Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Excellent! Everyone loved it! I followed advice of some reviewers and sautéed the chicken first instead of boiling. I also used more chicken, rice and cheese. I put in a 13 x 15 pan to accommodate the extras and did not want it to overflow. I added a little extra salsa to the soups and made extra rice for the guys that always want more rice. I covered it with foil for 30 minutes And then removed for the remaining cooking time. Definitely a hit and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I wanted to like this, I really did. But I wasn't impressed at all. I followed the recipe exactly. It tasted like mushy salsa flavored soup. I think if I had time to play around with this recipe a bit, it could be better, but as is - it's just lacking. I ate it, but I most likely won't be making it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Lasoy likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is great! It's tasty, easy to adapt, and makes plenty to share. Thanks for a winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
There was way too much thick sauce due to the two cans of condensed soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
So good! I was searching for a recipe that I could make with ingredients I had on hand. This one was perfect. I used two cans of Cream of Chicken, and more actual chicken breast than the recipe called for. I followed some of the suggestions in prior reviews and sauteed the chicken with the chopped onion and added a few tablespoons of taco seasoning mix, as well as a can of black beans. This casserole is TO DIE FOR! My boyfriend raved about it and happily ate leftovers for days afterward, saying it got even better as the days went by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allisonb
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
As per other reviewers, I sautéed seasoned chicken and onions, season to your taste. since my family are meat lovers, added more chicken than recipe called for to 2 cups of rice. We have a growing 15 yr old son, to parents with teenagers, I am sure you can relate, any way, so, mix salsa and soup mixes to sautéed chicken, obviously, more chicken, more salsa, more rice, more cheese, you get the pic. I layered chicken salsa mixture at bottom of baking dish, then rice then cheese, and repeat, end with chicken mixture and cheese. Also very important I never dice my chicken, do not like the texture, so much better shredded or cut into thin strips. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Yummy! I halved the recipe and made a few changes as others suggested (mostly preparation not to the ingredients). I sautéed the onions and chicken and added a can of red kidney beans (drained) to the rice. I mixed one can of cream of chicken soup with medium spicy chunky salsa. I layered 1/2 of the rice/bean mixture, 1/2 of the chicken/onion mixture, 1/2 of the soup and salsa mixture, and 1/2 of the cheese mixture in the prepared dish then repeated the layers, ending with cheese. I covered the casserole with foil and baked it for 30 minutes, removed the foil and baked for 10 more minutes. This dish was tasty and easy to prepare. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Used leftover Thanksgiving turkey in this recipe and it was a great way to spice up some leftovers. The recipe was easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Very tasty. Used brown rice, mango salsa with a bit of Sciracha for kick, a little Adobo seasoning, and a combo of cheddar and pepper jack cheese (a little more than half the recommended amount). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States