Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I was getting tired of the same cream of chicken/and or mushroom soup chicken casseroles and such that were in our dinner rotation so decided to try this... So glad I did because I was blown away! I used Fire Roasted Red Pepper enchilada sauce in place of the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
We made it a one skillet dish - brown onion & garlic & chicken, add soups, salsa, rice, frozen corn and some water, stirred it up and let simmer on the stove top. Then we added cheese at the end--stirred some in & sprinkled the rest on top. It was very tasty, but next time we'll probably use chicken broth in place of cream of chicken soup, we'll use canned tomatoes & our own spices instead of salsa, and add a package of hot green chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was yummy! I just mixed mine all together instead of layering. I also added more rice, as it just didn't seem like enough. I use minute rice, but I couldn't imagine that would make any difference. I ended up using about 2 cups of uncooked rice. I cooked my chicken in a mixture of mostly chicken broth and water and shredded the chicken. And even though I am a cheese lover, I used closer to 2 cups of cheese (not including what I put on top) and it was still VERY cheesy. Any more would have been too much, IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This turned out great but I made a few changes to add flavour. I sauteed the onions and chicken in a nonstick pan with some Taco Seasoning I (from this site. I also used brown rice, and low fat cheese. Turned out absolutely delicious, but for me the only thing was missing was black beans or low fat refried beans. I'll definitely add them in next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Was worried it might be bland, but it turned out great! I accidentally used two cans of cream of chicken, and it was fine. The only thing I disliked about it was all the dishes - rice saucepan, chicken skillet, two mixing bowls, baking dish, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
The flavor was good but it lacked texture. It needed something crunchy. It was more like a side dish than a meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I really liked this- but I changed to recipe to suit my family, so I felt like I couldn't give it 5 stars. I used brown rice instead of white, cooked the chicken in stock, and only used about half of the cheese called for (substituting queso fresco and mexican for monterey jack and chedder). Next time I will add black beans and corn. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
No, no, no. Sorry. I couldn't get past the color of this dish. Not pretty at all. The taste was bland. I used medium salsa and added some cilantro and sauteed up the chicken with some mexican seasonings, it still didn't do anything for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caribou, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I thought it was OK, easy enough to make. Cooked the chicken in crockpot during day instead of boiling the chicken. Kids didn't care for it, but husband and I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING!!! The only things I changed are that I cut the chicken into pieces when the chicken was raw and cooked it that way (much easier) and I used mexican cheese because I didn't have cheddar. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Lasich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 953) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States