Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
it is a keeper, husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is a keeper. Wow, delicious! Used a rotisserie chicken instead of boiling chicken breast. Made over the weekend at a cabin with girlfriends. Everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Good dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I don't know what I'd do without this recipe. My husband craves this weekly, and while it isn't my recipe, I serve it so proudly! I've made this by the book, and it's excellent. We prefer a little extra spice, so we use spanish rice, medium salsa, and add about a TBSP of red hot sauce to the soup mix (which isn't overpowering, just a little kick). I also tend to use 3 chicken breasts instead of 2. I agree with other posters about pre-cutting the chicken to cut down on prep time. Thank you to the amazing creator!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
easy and good. picky chef husband liked it too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My husband said this was the best thing I've ever made. I changed two things because it's what I had on hand. Instead of using white rice, I used a box of cilantro lime rice from Target. I also used fat free sour cream instead of cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I have made this recipe several times and every time it turns out well and everyone enjoys it. Good as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is an excellent base recipe. I only gave it 4 stars because I did change several things based on what I had on hand...so this is what I did and it was so yummy! I had a box of Zatarains Dirty Rice mix I used that instead of the rice. I cooked the chicken with diced onion and bell pepper, added a can of pinto beans and seasoned with Cajun Seasoning. I replaced the salsa with a can of diced tomatoes. I then layered the rice, chicken mixture, soup/tomatoes, and cheese. The seasoning from the rice box worked so well for this and made the salsa flavor unnecessary, my hubby loved this and he doesn't usually care for casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I made this last night for dinner and it was definitely tasty but, as others have suggested, a few additions can help. Also, I used leftover turkey (about 2 cups of chopped for 4 servings) instead of fresh chicken. Other changes I made included: using brown Basmati rice; adding about 2 TBSP of chopped green onions to the salsa (and reducing the chopped white onion by about the same amount); reducing the amount of cheese by 50%; adding salt, pepper and a dash of Taco seasoning; and adding a layer of Tostito round tortilla chips on the top just before the final cheese layer. I will certainly make this again as a little change from my usual Chicken/Rice/Broccoli concoctions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Excellent! I didn't have Monteray Jack Cheese so just used all cheddar and it was fabulous. Made a lot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 984) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States