Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
loved it shauna b.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
i cooked the chicken with onion and garlic and taco seasoning. Used 1/2 the brown rice and 1 can drained black beans. 1 can cream of chicken soup and salsa. Everything mixed together and baked. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Easy to make, inexpensive, super delicious and plentiful amount to feed many or make many meals out of!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Baril

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Great fast dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I also cheated and used our left over Bojangles chicken breasts (skin off) from last night and hot salsa. I cooked the onions and mixed everything together in a large bowl and topped it off with half the amount of cheese suggested. I made it before hand and cooked it with aluminum foil (as suggested) for 30 minutes, then 10 more without. It was very flavorful. Defiantly plan on making it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is so yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I thought this recipe was really really good! I followed the original recipe ALMOST exactly, but I think there are a few things that were necessary. I used 2 cups monteray jack cheese, and 2 cups shredded Velveeta cheese. This made the cheese flavor a little stronger, as my family loves the traditional salsa/velveeta queso dip. I also cooked the chicken in a pan and added the onions to saute, and then shredded the chicken instead of cutting it into cubes. I think you should at least have 1.5 lbs of chicken with this, because there's too much sauce witthout it. Or a little more rice to thinken it up a bit. But it really was great!! It made a lot and we are looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Copley, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I only gave this a 3 because I had to make so many changes to fix how bland it was. Instead of all salsa, I used a can of Rotel with diced green chilies and topped it up to the 1 1/2 cups with mild salsa. I also used both dark and light meat for better flavor. Rather than layering, I mixed the cooked rice, both soups, onion and salsa together along with about 1 tsp salt and 1 tsp cumin. Then I stirred in the chicken and half the cheese. I sprinkled the remaining cheese over the top after pouring into the pan. The cooking time is confusing. In one place it says an hour and at the end it says 40 minutes. I baked for 40 minutes, took off the foil and baked for another 20 to get the top all bubbly. I served it with homemade guacamole. Finally, this said 8 servings. Since this fills the pan to the absolute top, this 9x13 ends up being 12 servings in our house. Next time I'll cut the recipe in half and bake it in an 8x8 pan. We had so much leftover that we ended up using it as a filling for burritos the next night. With the remaining (yes, I still had more leftovers), I made up more burritos, and froze them flat on a cookie sheet. After they were solid, I just put them all in a freezer bag. My son heats them in the microwave (just like store bought frozen burritos) at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This casserole is THE BEST. I had it at a friend's small dinner party when she was just whipping something up easy and delicious. I've made it like, 5 times now on my own. I usually cook it on a Sunday evening and then have it for the rest of the week for our lunches. I substitute brown rice rather than white rice and opt for lower amounts of cheeses (or sub whatever I have, like pepper jack) but it's still quite delicious. Last time I also added in some black olives on top towards the end of the baking time, nice little edit for some additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Keller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I added more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inthe kitchen247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arcadia, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 962) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States