Salsa Chicken Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Something went wrong here. Followed the recipe to the T and the meatloaf came out all liquidey...?! (...the brown sugar glaze was VERY tasty.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blakelr

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Pretty good. Everyone at my house enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very tasty! I made it close to the original, except I subbed fresh whole wheat bread crumbs for the croutons, used all chicken, and eliminated the jalapeno since my salsa was spicy. I cooked it as patties in a fry pan as another viewer suggested. These were so flavorful they did not need any condiments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly...the flavor wasn't bad but the loaf ended up being very wet. I had to cut off the bottom of the loaf and just eat the middle/top part. I may try again, using less salsa and maybe using turkey instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI5678

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Like other reviewers, I had a pound of pork and a pound of chicken, so I used both and added more salsa (16oz), taco seasoning (1 pkg) and croutons (maybe two loose cups). I didn't want to have to cook the onion, garlic and spicy pepper bc my hubby doesn't like onions (they are in the salsa anyway) and I didn't have a pepper. Instead, I added four cloves of fresh minced garlic and a can of green chilies directly to the meat. That was way easier and the meatloaf was really delicious and not too spicy for our toddler. The cooking time seemed off for me and I guess I would have had to add another 20 min, but since I didn't have time, I nuked each serving. I took off a star bc 1) my loaf was way too wet, so I would add more croutons in the future and 2) it made a huge mess in my oven! Watch out for that combo of super juicy and BBQ sauce, it drips like mad. I'll bet the leftovers are fantastic and I will be making this again. Thanks for a great spin on traditional meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
It turned out great!!!! My family loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I slightly modified the recipe, using ground turkey in the place of chicken and bread crumbs in place of the croutons. I didn't add brown sugar to the BBQ sauce either, we get enough sugar in everything we eat. This meatloaf tasted excellent with lots of levels of flavor. It was very moist. Also, there wasn't the "shrinkage" you get when using ground burger. Overall an excellent meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Hands-down one of the best meatloaf recipes I have tried. Easy to make. I didn't have ground pork, but used hot Italian Sausage taken out of the casing - yum. Even with the jalapeno, not hot - I might put more in next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Fantastic! Different and tasty with the right amount of spice. Everyone gobbled it up even the picky eaters in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States