Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I followed many people's suggestions and made the Taco Seasoning I for seasonings and skipped the extra cumin, garlic, and chili powder. Next time I am going to try to do this in a crock pot to see if I can get the chicken to shred a little earlier. I will definitely be cooking this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This is a keeper, as my husband says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Agree that it does not need taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for taco seasoning. I use it on chicken, shrimp and even just veggies sometimes. I never buy packets of seasoning anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Excellent and easy recipe. This was the first time I made a chicken burrito filling and all the guests loved it. Most importantly I loved it. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
very good. i left out the taco seasoning mix and used a little more salsa than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Popped into slow cooker for 3 hours and added about another 4 cloves of garlic (we love garlic). Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uitenhage, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was really good! I did make a few changes. I cut up chicken thighs and legs and since i didn't have any salsa, i used an eight oz can of tomato sauceand set it to boil. When it boiled, i added 1/4 cup of sofrito, 1/2 of the taco packet, 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper, 1/2 teaspoon of chili powder and the two minced garlic cloves. The cumin seemed like too much so i left it out. I covered the pot and simmered for 10 mins. I added half a can of drained black beans and covered for another five mins. I preheated the oven to 350 degrees and laid a burrito on the chopping board and filled it with chopped lettuce, diced tomato, cheddar and Mexican cheese and then the chicken mixture. I wrapped.ip up, sprinkled a little cheese on the tops and baked it for ten mins. I served it with a little sour cream and it was so delicious! My boyfriend said it was better than taco bell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabel Chu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is very similar to the recipe I've been using for shredded chicken taco filling for a long time. The only real difference is that I use the crockpot instead of the stovetop, which really gives the chicken a nice tenderness and slow-cooked flavor. I sometimes replace the salsa with a third of a can of premade enchilada sauce and replace the envelope of taco spices with more individual spices (which makes it less salty), then mix in shredded cheese at the end to make a delicious enchilada filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States