Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was fine. The chicken didn't dry out. It just wasn't delicious to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Personally, this was WAY too spicy for me, and that was with extra mild salsa and no hot sauce! I think, though, that the taco seasoning I used (Victorian Epicure) may have been the culprit. I wrapped the filling in 6" corn tortillas, put salsa and shredded cheese on top, and baked for 10 minutes at 350F. I put heaps and heaps of sour cream on top which helped lessen the spicyness somewhat and they ended up being surprisingly enjoyable :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Pretty good. While tasty, I'm not sure I'd make this on a regular basis. This is great for those nights when you need something simple and fuss-free on the table - QUICK (I'll save this for those occasions)! I do agree that this would be MUCH better if slow cooked. I had to add a considerable amount of chicken broth several times thruout the cooking process in order to keep my chicken "moist" (even on the lowest heat setting, my chicken seemed quite dry). Slow cooking would eliminate this. NOTE: Don't omit the cumin / chili powder! Yes, both are spices found in traditional taco seasoning, but adding them (in ADDITION) to the taco spices only enhances the overall flavor, IMHO. Served "taco style" with all the fixins' - chopped scallion and tomato, shredded lettuce, sharp cheddar and sour cream. Mexican rice completed our meal. Thanks for sharing, JUBEEFISH! My husband ESPECIALLY thanks you (he's ALWAYS begging me to make tacos lol!). :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Everyone in my home loved it.....the serving options are so versitle that it's going on my weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandee1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this today in my Lil' Dipper Crockpot. I used homemade salsa, homemade taco seasoning and california ground chili powder. Even cooked in the crockpot it turned out juicy and flavorful--perfect taco meat. I made taco salad bowls using my Perfect Tortilla taco bowl pans and making little bowls of toppings. The family thought this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Used 3 frozen chicken breasts, the homemade taco seasoning, 2 (8 oz) cans tomato sauce (next time try just one can), fresh chopped onion, 2 fresh chopped garlic, 1/2 jalapeño, omitted the hot pepper sauce, (left other ingredients the same) and threw everything in the crock pot on high for about an hour, then low about 3 hours. Felt the chicken was getting tough, so put it on warm another 2 hrs before shredding the chicken. Mixed it back in with the sauce and kept on warm until we ate it about another 2 hrs. Chicken wasnt tough at all, had a really good flavor! Maybe would use more fresh ingredients to fancy it up a bit, but as it was perfect for its simplicity and great leftovers! Made awesome burritos except for the extra sauce making it kinda runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Love love love this recipe. It's in my regular rotation, and I didn't change a thing. thank you Jubeefish for posting such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
okay. probably not worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was very good with some adjustments. There really isn't enough tomato sauce to "bring to a boil" and cook the chicken in, so I poached the chicken in chicken stock first, then shredded it and continued with the recipe. I then boiled, strained, and used the stock to make rice as a side dish. I also felt that the whole amount of taco seasoning was going to be far too much, so I added to taste and skipped the additional cumin and chili powder as they are already in the seasoning blend I used (Taco Seasoning I). I also snuck some black beans and corn kernels into the filling. I did need to add more liquid (used chicken stock), though I didn't cook on too high of a heat. Final product was tasty! Made 4 servings for 3 people, served with sour cream, guacamole, rice, and refried beans and it was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
"Very flavorful" says the critic! We both loved this change of pace... normally I cook the chicken just with the taco seasoning (using recipe from this site--I make in bulk with good quality seasonins so we have on hand at all times!). While that has worked just fine, this recipe isn't much extra work to get a bigger mouthful of flavor! I skipped the garlic because I was lazy. I could definitely see adapting this for a crockpot and serving to a larger group. Looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States