Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a very tasty recipe! I used a can of enchalada sauce in place ot tomato sauce, used half package of taco seasoning and half the spices, also added some cilantro. cooked it in the crockpot for about 3 1/2 hrs. added black beans to the burritos before baking....simply delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa S
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Ooh! We really liked this. Of course, being one with an inability to follow recipes verbatim, I made some (just a few!) modifications; some, per users suggestions; some, to get rid of ingredients I had on hand. I put 3 frozen chicken breasts in a slow cooker, used an 11 oz can of tomato sauce instead of 4oz, added a can of Rotel (diced tomatoes with chilies) and about 3/4 cups of chopped onions, and only added 1/2-3/4 of the packet of taco seasoning. I also added about 3/4 cups of water. Slow cooked on high for 3.5 hours. I was able to break apart the chicken after 2.5 hours. Served with a bit of cheese (Kraft Mexican Blend) and sour cream in a tortilla wrap (Ole Xtreme Wellness High Fiber Low Carb keeps the meal in the healthy-zone and still tastes good :). P.S. I cubed sweet potatoes, microwaved for about 9 minutes and added to the slow cooker with about 45 minutes left to go. They made a great healthy side dish when served with some extra sauce. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
good, but only use 1/2 pkg of taco seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe as stated, even using the taco packet, and it turned out great. Great flavor and simple to make. Put a spoonful in the center of a flour tortilla and top with cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Pretty good. Highly recommend using non-stick saucepan as I didn't the first time and that was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is a great recipe. I used 8 oz of salsa and did my own spices (tumeric, garlic powder, chili powder, cumin, and dried onion flakes) instead of taco seasoning. Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Awesome! Great flavor easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Delicious and Super Easy! Like most everyone else I cut the taco seasoning. I did 1/4-1/2 a packet of taco seasoning, garlic, and chili powder, I left out the cumin and hot sauce. I put frozen chicken in the crock pot and covered it with the mix on low for 8 hours and it shredded perfectly when I got home! I combined this with refried beans, rice, cheese, sour cream and it was so yummy! This will definitely be on my list to make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I think this is the first 5 star recipe I've given on here. This stuff is INCREDIBLE. I made it last night. I was using frozen chicken breasts so I boiled and shredded them before hand. After this went pretty much the same route as the recipe suggested. I did not use the entire package of taco seasoning. I believe it is a bit more than needed and I was right. I used about 3/4 of the package and it came out PERFECT. This will definitely be a regular in my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jz040488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Really great added red and green bell peppers in with the salsa mix and it tasted great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 562) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States