Salsa Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Okay, don't know if I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
What a surprise this was! I really liked it, my DH and son not so much. I halved the recipe as this was a snack for watching football. I sprinkled some garlic powder, onion powder and chili powder in a couple of tablespoons melted butter, and poured that over the top before adding the cheese. I would like to try this same idea and make pizza bread next time. Thank you SSTACI!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Yummy! I made sort-of a half recipe of this only using one canister of whomp biscuits in a 8x8 square pan. I used my own homemade salsa and a cup and a half of pepper-jack cheese. I think using homemade salsa and a peppier cheese helped this recipe quite a bit. I think this would be even better if I had stirred in a little homemade taco seasoning into the salsa before I spread it on the dough pieces. GREAT cheap and quick "side" on a very low-cook feelin' kind of day plus I always coupon whomp biscuits for next to nothing so this was a new way to use them. This would make a fun white trash party app!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
We loved this! I only used 1 can of biscuits, so I adjusted the other ingredients accordingly, but other than that, I made this exactly as written. We thought this had wonderful flavor and it was so simple to prepare. I will definately be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Not bad, but I think I would prefer a different bread in this. I think it needs something a little more flavorful--the biscuit is good where it comes in contact with what is added, but it sort of dry and boring without it. I used minced garlic instead of onions--we're not huge onion fans, and the salsa I used had onions anyway. I prefer it that way. Very good with our chicken and green bean dinner a few nights ago. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made this exactly as written. It was ok...but seemed to be lacking in flavor. I can't put my finger on what is missing but I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I also make this with pizza sauce, mozzarella cheese and whatever pizza toppings we are in the mood for....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This is really good! It kind of reminds us of mexican monkey bread. Very easy, and the kids just gobbled it up. I didn't have salsa, so I used a can of Rotel (liquid drained) and a can of green chilies instead. The aroma while it was baking was wonderful and I can't help thinking this would be an interesting alternative to cornbread. Will definitely make again. Update: made again, but used muffin tins instead of the large baking dish and it was even better! It gave the bread more of a cheese crust. Anyways I continue to use the Rotel/green chilies instead of the salsa. I like the flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Potluck Pepperoni Bread

What's cooking in Charlotte? Suzi's versatile potluck pepperoni bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States