Salsa Biscuit Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alesha Walker
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I swapped the chicken with Johnsonville Mild Ground Sausage. I read several reviews that said there was a lot of extra filling - so I was prepared for that. I put the extra in the fridge and I'm going to make nachos tonight! Yum! Very easy but really really tasty! I will definitely be making it again! 6 Ingredients or Less - can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alesha Walker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North East, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
just added more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
My family LOVED this! I used Grand's biscuits, and used a roller to flatten them out (made them easier to roll). I also added 2 tablespoons of sour cream. DELICIOUS! I see other reviews suggest using tortillas instead of biscuits, and I agree that would be tasty and easier. However, I really enjoyed the extra flavor that the biscuits added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Made exactly as the recipes says. They were not bad, but bland and unexciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonoma cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I used this recipe as a base to create a casserole-type dish that was done lasagna-style. I has leftover potatoes from "Bubbles and Squeak" recipe on AR (I'd left them as mashed potatoes for lack of time) and spread the entire amount I had on the bottom of a glass baking dish. Then went on to cook the chicken, which I first seasoned with homemade taco seasoning, then pan-fried until done. Chopped it up, placed in a bowl then added salsa, cheddar cheese & cottage cheese. Skipped the onion as there was some in the potatoes and salsa. I made a biscuit dough using the Bisquick mix and stretched it out over the top. This was a great way to use leftovers and things I had on hand. Without the additional seasonings I this would've been bland, as some reviews pointed out. Of course, homemade biscuit dough and fresh salsa would make this dish shine. Keeping on file for a night when I need something quick to toss together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Very tasty! Easy to make, I followed the advice of using a muffin tin and just pushed the biscuits down after baking a few minutes, this created a pocket for the chicken, and backed beautifully... it also made great leftovers, I didn't have a problem with soggy biscuits. I served it with Spanish rice and sour cream. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The final result turned out really good! I did change somethings. I was short on time so I used canned chicken, threw in some salsa, cheese, sour cream, chili powder, and also chopped up a small amount of red bell peppers and threw that in as well. The peppers made this dish! I used the biscuits and put chicken mixture on half then folded over and pinched the seam together. It made a great home made hot pocket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Chicken turned out tasty but realized I altered the recipe without knowing. I cooked onions added salsa and cooked chicken and continued to cook. Then added 1 cup cheese. Then purposefully changed this part...(Would have used grands) Rolled out biscuit, placed in muffin tin, put tablespoon of refried beans in bottom and cooked 5 min. Then added about 2 tablespoons of chicken and topped with remaining cheese and cooked 5 min or till the brown edges. LOVED IT! Empanada like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This recipe was ok. We enjoyed it tonight, but it probably won't make our regular menu list. I followed the recipe pretty closely only changing the way I cooked my chicken. I seasoned and grilled it, then chopped it in the food processor because I prefer the flavor of grilled chicken to boiled chicken. I would suggest trying tortillas in place of the biscuits and serving with additional burrito/taco toppings like guacamole, sour cream, beans, etc. I think it would work well as an appetizer if made smaller in a biscuit or tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
We loved this, I used crescent rolls, I didn't have biscuit dough, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States