Salsa Biscuit Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
These were extremely tasty! I used a 16oz can of "Grands" biscuits and I still had over half of the chicken mixture left, so I made "wraps" with tortillas and froze them for quick lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
i always have a hard time with the folding over of the biscuits. they always end up lookig messy. so instead i pressd the biscuits in muffin tins, baked for a few minutes until they started puffing up..then i took them out pressed them into the muffin tins again. when they were about 4 minutes from being done i added the chicken, salsa and cheese. the only regret i have is i didnt make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Pretty good. My 6-year-old loved it! I only used 1 cup of cheese in the sauce, and next time I would use a Mexican blend or something that melts better than Cheddar. I ended up flattening my biscuits (regular size not Grands) and putting them in greased muffin cups. Spoon in filling, sprinkle with cheese and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
i used "grand" style biscuits, boiled chicken breast tenders and "medium" salsa. i also added garlic salt, pepper and sour cream to the mixture. this was enough to eat as a decent dinner, since the biscuits were larger. but, i'd suggest using tortillas instead, like others have mentioned, since this tastes just like a chicken enchilada or chicken taco. very easy and quick dish to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This is a great recipe! Very quick & easy! My 1 year old even loved it! I'm going to try this recipe again, but this time I'm going to try the chicken mixture in flour tortillas (enstead of biscuits) and add jack cheese to it. Then they will be chicken soft tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I cooked my chicken in 1 cup chicken broth and seasoned it with chili powder, cumin and salt and cooked till very tender. I was afraid the mixture might end up a bit dry so I added 2 tbsp. flour to the onion as it cooked, then added a can of undrained diced green chilis, 1/2 cup sour cream, the cheese and salsa. I added the shredded chicken back to this mixture and used this as my filling. I flattened the bisquits, put some filling down the center and rolled them like little burritos, securing with a toothpick. Everyone thought they were great. Good warmed up as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This is delicious! I had about 1/3 of the chicken mixture left when I ran out of biscuits - maybe I didn't flatten them enough? If you make everything on a smaller scale, they would be great as appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
My husband, son and I loved this recipe, but I found it very difficult to put the chicken/cheese/salsa mixture in the biscuit. I even flattened the biscuit more! Next time I will just use flour tortillas like others have suggested! (I didn't add the onion since the salsa had enough in it!) Thank you for a wonderful tasting recipe! (I used Grand Biscuits)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
This is a really tasty recipe that you can spice up with hot salsa or jalapeno jack cheese. We loved it! It's not the type of thing you'd want to have as a leftover (the biscuit becomes soggy upon reheating), but you don't have to worry about that because there's never any left when you're done! It's too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
Thanks for the recipe! It's very simple & my family loved it. I'll definitely make this again. Note: I couldn't help but play with the ingredients just a little... I added a heaping spoon of sour cream to the chicken mixture plus some cilantro & poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States