Salsa Biscuit Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by WVUAlesha
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I swapped the chicken with Johnsonville Mild Ground Sausage. I read several reviews that said there was a lot of extra filling - so I was prepared for that. I put the extra in the fridge and I'm going to make nachos tonight! Yum! Very easy but really really tasty! I will definitely be making it again! 6 Ingredients or Less - can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WVUAlesha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North East, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
just added more garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
My family LOVED this! I used Grand's biscuits, and used a roller to flatten them out (made them easier to roll). I also added 2 tablespoons of sour cream. DELICIOUS! I see other reviews suggest using tortillas instead of biscuits, and I agree that would be tasty and easier. However, I really enjoyed the extra flavor that the biscuits added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Made exactly as the recipes says. They were not bad, but bland and unexciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonoma cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I used this recipe as a base to create a casserole-type dish that was done lasagna-style. I has leftover potatoes from "Bubbles and Squeak" recipe on AR (I'd left them as mashed potatoes for lack of time) and spread the entire amount I had on the bottom of a glass baking dish. Then went on to cook the chicken, which I first seasoned with homemade taco seasoning, then pan-fried until done. Chopped it up, placed in a bowl then added salsa, cheddar cheese & cottage cheese. Skipped the onion as there was some in the potatoes and salsa. I made a biscuit dough using the Bisquick mix and stretched it out over the top. This was a great way to use leftovers and things I had on hand. Without the additional seasonings I this would've been bland, as some reviews pointed out. Of course, homemade biscuit dough and fresh salsa would make this dish shine. Keeping on file for a night when I need something quick to toss together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Very tasty! Easy to make, I followed the advice of using a muffin tin and just pushed the biscuits down after baking a few minutes, this created a pocket for the chicken, and backed beautifully... it also made great leftovers, I didn't have a problem with soggy biscuits. I served it with Spanish rice and sour cream. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
The final result turned out really good! I did change somethings. I was short on time so I used canned chicken, threw in some salsa, cheese, sour cream, chili powder, and also chopped up a small amount of red bell peppers and threw that in as well. The peppers made this dish! I used the biscuits and put chicken mixture on half then folded over and pinched the seam together. It made a great home made hot pocket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Chicken turned out tasty but realized I altered the recipe without knowing. I cooked onions added salsa and cooked chicken and continued to cook. Then added 1 cup cheese. Then purposefully changed this part...(Would have used grands) Rolled out biscuit, placed in muffin tin, put tablespoon of refried beans in bottom and cooked 5 min. Then added about 2 tablespoons of chicken and topped with remaining cheese and cooked 5 min or till the brown edges. LOVED IT! Empanada like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This recipe was ok. We enjoyed it tonight, but it probably won't make our regular menu list. I followed the recipe pretty closely only changing the way I cooked my chicken. I seasoned and grilled it, then chopped it in the food processor because I prefer the flavor of grilled chicken to boiled chicken. I would suggest trying tortillas in place of the biscuits and serving with additional burrito/taco toppings like guacamole, sour cream, beans, etc. I think it would work well as an appetizer if made smaller in a biscuit or tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
We loved this, I used crescent rolls, I didn't have biscuit dough, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States