Salmon with Pineapple Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
As the submitter of this recipe I wanted to comment that although many people who have reviewed the recipe have chosen to bake the salmon with the salsa, the recipe does not intend for it to be prepared this way. The salsa is meant to be served as a condiment to the baked salmon. It should be refrigerated and allowed to sit out just a few minutes before serving. Just wanted to clarify for those who are considering trying the dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Refreshing and delicious would be the best description for this dish. It is a perfect summer meal not only because it takes advantage of ingredients at their peak, but when it is hot and humid, the last place one wants to be is cooking over a hot stove. Just a few suggestions/minor changes: 1) DON’T cook the salsa with the fish. The coolness of the salsa makes a nice compliment to the warm fish. 2) Do make more of the salsa. It’s good. 3) I add a bit more broth than suggested. The first time I made this recipe, all the broth evaporated and the fish stuck to the bottom of the pan (I also prefer to use vegetable broth, but that is a taste preference.) 4) The lemon pepper isn’t enough; we add more seasonings to give the fish extra flavor. Oregano leaves are a must and – depending on my mood – cayenne pepper/red pepper flakes (for a little oomph) or cinnamon (for sweetness). I usually serve this recipe with mashed sweet potatoes (they add some substance to the meal, but still keep it semi-healthy), but asparagus, an avocado salad or Waldorf salad would all be good accompaniments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
this was a excellent seafood recipe. I only changed on thing I cooked the salsa with the salmon and it came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Excellent. My husbands new favorite way to have salmon. I also added 3/4 cup quick rice and I cooked it with the salsa. I mixed it all up and put te salmon on the bottom.. it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was GREAT! I happened to have shallots lying around, but I wouldn't hesitate to use a yellow or green onion in it's place. I didn't have lime juice so I used half OJ and half lemon juice. I added extra brown sugar, cilantro and 2 green onions for extra zing. I will make this all the time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was even better than I had expected and I didnt even have a couple of things on hand. I followed the others reviews and baked the salsa on top of the salmon. I left one piece without the salsa for a picky child, but the juice flavored that one nicely too. The pineapple and tomato combo was nice and tangy. I used a little purple onion because I didnt have shallots. I also realized that I was out of chicken broth so I just poured the salsa all over the fish and baked until flaky. I let it set a few minutes so the soy/juice thickened some. Delicious! My teenage daughter ate two pieces and went on and on about how great it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
KUDO'S to the chef. I agree. keep it as intended or create your own recipe......hehe very good and unique recipe.. a few minor alterations per taste. but someone decided to change the entire intent of recipe.....making it all different.. I like the original...... baked with the condiment sauce may be good, but is a different recipe and flavor all together... Originality has its perks...and as a hobby chef, I applaud you.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I made this last night and my husband and I both loved it. The salmon was very tender and flavorful. The only change was that I baked the salmon with the salsa on top. This recipe in my keeper file, and will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I thought this dish was tasty. I also baked the salsa on the salmon. Unfortunately nobody else in the family was really happy with. Im gonna give it 4 stars for taste but cant give 5 cause nobody else really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Dover Air Force Base, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made the salsa with garlic instead of shallots. The fresh basil really added a great touch! I also seasoned the salmon with oregano, basil, pepper, and garlic salt instead to bring in the garlic from the salsa. Really yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newlywedaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States