Salmon with Pineapple Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Very, very good. The only thing I changed was to use dry basil instead of fresh... (Didn't want to spend extra money). However, I'm sure is worth it! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Great combination with the salmon, tomato, pinapple and scallions. Instead of lime juice (which I did not have) and olive oil I used Ken's Steak House Lemon & Pepper Marinade and I also had to use dry basil.... which worked out fine. The left over half cup of chicken soup I used for heating up tri-colored Couscous. Cooked the fish in the salsa sauce and mixed it it with couscous once cooked. It was real nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I love salmon in the first place, so I'm always looking for something new. I made a few, small changes...primarily for convenience and cost, not taste. I substituted a small, white onion for the shallots (pound-for-pound, shallots are way more expensive than onions). I also 'cheated' and used dried basil instead of fresh. Over all, a great recipe. I've already had it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
My husband loved this dish! The salsa was a great addition to the salmon. The only thing I changed was to use crushed pineapple instead of the chunks, and I even made the salsa for grilled shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gonzales, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This is amazing! My husband was skeptical while we were making it, but it is now one of his favorites. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Folle-Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My wife does not like a whole lot of fish the way I do, yet she eats every bite of this one...what does that tell you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
As the submitter of this recipe I wanted to comment that although many people who have reviewed the recipe have chosen to bake the salmon with the salsa, the recipe does not intend for it to be prepared this way. The salsa is meant to be served as a condiment to the baked salmon. It should be refrigerated and allowed to sit out just a few minutes before serving. Just wanted to clarify for those who are considering trying the dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Made this tonight for our daughter's anniversary dinner. Unfortunately I was disappointed because there seemed to be too much juice. I cooked the salsa with the salmon. I do feel that it would be better with fresh haddock or halibut. It certainly does not need the chicken broth. Am going to play around with it because we all liked the flavor just not the texture of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I seasoned sockeye salmon with chiang mai fish and fowl from central market. I pan seared it (cast iron skillet) in olive oil 2 min. on first side, 1 min on 2nd side and stuck in 425 oven for 8 minutes. I combined in a bowl the salsa ingredients less lime juice and oil also subbing mirin for sugar, and used undrained canned tomato, undrained pineapple, and added a little of the chicken broth. After the salmon came out threw the salsa ingredients in a blotted dry pan and had a sauce in seconds. (It will sizzle because the pan is so hot.) Served over jasmine rice. This tasted like a restaurant quality dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This was GREAT! I happened to have shallots lying around, but I wouldn't hesitate to use a yellow or green onion in it's place. I didn't have lime juice so I used half OJ and half lemon juice. I added extra brown sugar, cilantro and 2 green onions for extra zing. I will make this all the time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States