Salmon with Pineapple Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ter623
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I liked this salsa recipe. I made the salmon my own way and served the salsa room temp on the side. I didn't make it up far enough ahead to put in the fridge. I had to substitute white onions for the scallions so I only used 1/2 the amount. I also about doubled the sugar-it was too tart for my taste. I used key lime juice as that's what I had in house. Maybe it's more tart? I also added a splash of the pineapple juice from the can. I used fresh Romas and basil from my garden. I had more dressing than I needed. I had about 1/4 cup leftover.Picture is of my salsa only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
My husband and I love it! I use canned pineapple because it's easy and green onions since our family doesn't like shallots. Our health-conscious friends will love this, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
The salsa was incredible!! I would even make this salsa just to serve with tortilla chips. Definitely keep the salsa cold and as an aside. Everyone in our family ate it up! I did use a white onion instead of a shallot, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I was a tad bit hesitant about making this for dinner tonight since I was using fresh Alaskan Copper River Salmon and didn't want to risk "screwing up" a great piece of fish. :) However, I realized as long as I cooked the fish properly, I could leave off the salsa if we didn't like it. Mostly, I was unsure about the soy sauce, but decided I really liked it after it sat in the fridge for 20 min or so... especially since we usually add a drizzle of soy sauce to our plain rice anyways. Rather than heat the house or uncover the grill, I chose to cook on the stove. That said, I hope everyone knows to watch the cooking time... 30-40 min could be too long at 375' !! --To enjoy this even more, I eyeballed vs. measuring ingredients. :) Overall, we enjoyed the dish! Thanks Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Awesome dish!!! My husband loved it too:) and he is a super picky eater. Honestly, he doesn't even like salmon.... BUT HE DOES NOW!! yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Baliva
Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Wonderful! I used canned pineapples and just drained the juice out of them. I will definelty make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I made the salsa with garlic instead of shallots. The fresh basil really added a great touch! I also seasoned the salmon with oregano, basil, pepper, and garlic salt instead to bring in the garlic from the salsa. Really yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newlywedaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Delicious substituting white wine instead of chicken broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was great! I really enjoyed it. I did a few mods for it. Instead of Pineapple i used Pomegranate and it turned out really good! I also mixed in some fresh Jalapeño with tomatoes made a huge difference. Substituted soy sauce for some spices and a little vinegar. The beauty of this dish is NOT cooking the salsa with the fish. Burst of fresh veggies and cooked fish is what makes this so flavorful. Serve with a glass of white wine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
the salsa was yummy, although my husband wasn't into the pineapple (the lime juice seemed to neutralize it a little too much for him). i actually think the salmon cooking time was a bit too long. otherwise, great recipe! the only change i made was using tomatoes on the vine instead of plum tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States