Salmon with Pecan Honey Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Fast and Easy way to make Salmon. Cooking for (2). Toasted Walnut pieces in Skillet. Used only about 3Tbs butter, equal parts Honey Syrup (about 2-3Tbs ea), tsp of dried mustard and a capful of Vanilla. This gave the glaze a suble sweetbuttery flavor but NOT overpowering. Added the Walnuts and let it simmer while Salmon cooked. Only used about 2Tbs of oil to coat bottom of pan... Salmon BROWNED nicely. The glaze was the PERFECT compliment to the CRUSTY Salmon and the VERY soft Walnuts. As with most recipes ... I am a TASTER ... I can always ADD but cannot remove an ingredient. THANKS...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet  - NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This wasn't bad but I think it needed a little zing....maybe a little bit of spicy mustard stirred in. The sauce just seemed too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
The sauce completely overpowers the fish. If you like salmon, stick to a sauce that is more of a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
My husband and I don't eat turkey so I brought this dish to my very southern in-laws for Thanksgiving, which they all scoffed at until they saw this delicious-looking fish. Well they all wanted to try some and we had no leftovers, and the next day, my husband's stepmother's eldery father showed up on my doorstep asking for the recipe. As a side note, I used brown sugar instead of honey with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Easy to use fast recipe....I think a 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of honey might be better....mine turned out a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
We did not enjoy this at all. We found that the glaze and the pecans were too overpowering for the salmon to the point you could not taste salmon at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Very good. Not as sweet as I thought it would be after reading the other reviews, just sweet enough. I made the recipe as written this time, but next time I think I will mke a few changes. I won't toast the pecans in the oven, I'll just lightly toast them in the heavy pan that I'll be cooking the sauce in. And I will use less butter and oil to cook the salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This salmon was a nice switch from the usual savoury salmon we eat. The recipe calls for 1.5 lbs of fish and we only had 1 lb of fresh Atlantic salmon, so I tried to modify the sauce ingredients to suit. We baked the salmon instead of pan frying it (just seasoned with a little sea salt and pepper), and cut the sauce ingredients by 1/3. Although the sauce was quite sweet, we liked it with the fish. The only problem we had with it was that once the sauce cooled, it became very gummy and thick. This *could* be attributed to not measuring the sauce ingredients properly though. When making this again, I will make all of the sauce, but decrease the amount of pecans - we liked it on ice cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was excellent. I strongly recommend using your best judgement on the amount of butter and honey. I used 3 TB butter and a little over 1 TB honey and it was PLENTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
A VERY good recipe. I cut the butter in half to make it a little less greasy. I also cut the amount of honey in half, doubled the pecans, and added about 1 tablespoon of Cajun mustard. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States