Salmon with Mango and Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I rubbed the salmon fillets with ground pepper, paprika and 4-5 cloves of finely minced garlic, just like an earlier review recommended. The taste of garlicy brie cheese was heavenly!! I also substituted a ripe pear for one mango (as I only had one) and it turned out great! I added a pinch of salt and about 1/2 tsp of sugar to the mango/pear mixture as it cooked to enhance the flavours of the fruit. Next time, I would make DOUBLE the amount of mango sauce as it is a terrific topper for basmati rice - maybe it would be even better with a splash of coconut milk? I may also add some finely minced fresh cilantro to the mango mixture the next time I try this. For those of you who are concerned about the amount of fat in the brie cheese, use some light mozzarella cheese instead. This was so refreshing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I wanted this to be so delicious. It's 3 of my favorite things in the world, all together in one dish! In reality, it was just OK. The flavors didn't work as well together as I would have thought. The brie gets a little lost. I'd make it again, but I'll have to play around with the ingredients, maybe a less flavorful fish or a stronger-tasting cheese. One warning - make sure your mangos are very ripe, or you won't have a sauce, you'll have caramelized mango chunks. Mine were way to underripe to turn into a sauce. We still enjoyed them as a "warm mango salsa" sort of thing, but if you're looking for an actual sauce, start with mushy mangos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Recommend the following changes: *add garlic to pan before adding mangoes *mix in 1 tbsp of brown sugar with the mangoes *season the salmon with ground pepper and kosher salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! The only problem that I ran into is that the brie melted almost completely off the salmon, but I just layered more brie on before ladling the mago sauce on. For the mango topping, the mangos I started with were a bit unripe, so I took another reviewers advice and blended them in the blender first. I think this greatly facillitated with making it smooth, for the unblended chunks never got smooth on their own. I also added some lemon juice, some brown sugar, and a pinch of cayenne pepper. It was great over the rice I served on the side. Be prepared to make extras, but don't expect any leftovers, everything was scraped clean! This is one of my favourite recipes and the only reason it isn't getting 5 stars is because of how much I changed it. Have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was fantastic, I LOVE the combo of brie and salmon. I enjoyed even more the second time when I used an asian pear and a fuji apple instead of the mango, then cooked them in a little bit of maple syrup. Made a nice, crunchy contrast to the smooth brie and salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was sooooooooo delicious! My husband was very skeptical about the mangos but that was really what made the whole dish come together. I didn't have Brie cheese so I used Munster instead, but next time I would like to try the Brie. Another review mentioned that if the mango is not ripe enough you just get caramelized mangos which I ended up with but it was still very tasty. Very easy to make and not much time and clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I'm not sure how I feel about this recipe. The mango mix was delicious, and I love brie cheese. I followed previous suggestions to add some punch to the salmon with salt and pepper. It definitely would have been bland without it, in my opinion. In retrospect, the idea of cheese, even something like brie, just seems weird for fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was very good! We made the salmon on the grill on a cedar board. At the very end laid the brie on top to melt-- which only took a couple of minutes-- the cedar board added a great smokey flavor to it all. As for the sauce, on other reviewers suggestion I added a pinch of cayanne pepper. I used jarred mangoes and added a tiny bit of the juice from the jar as well so that they could cook up better. They didnt get completely smooth, which could be remedied by putting in blender, however we liked the sauce just fine with the small chunks of mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe was delicious! So flavorful and easy. The only thing I would suggest would be to add a dab more brie on each piece of salmon a couple of minutes before it's done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this for dinner for myself and my Mom and it was very good! The flavors are a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleomobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States