Salmon with Mango and Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was fantastic, I LOVE the combo of brie and salmon. I enjoyed even more the second time when I used an asian pear and a fuji apple instead of the mango, then cooked them in a little bit of maple syrup. Made a nice, crunchy contrast to the smooth brie and salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I rubbed the salmon fillets with ground pepper, paprika and 4-5 cloves of finely minced garlic, just like an earlier review recommended. The taste of garlicy brie cheese was heavenly!! I also substituted a ripe pear for one mango (as I only had one) and it turned out great! I added a pinch of salt and about 1/2 tsp of sugar to the mango/pear mixture as it cooked to enhance the flavours of the fruit. Next time, I would make DOUBLE the amount of mango sauce as it is a terrific topper for basmati rice - maybe it would be even better with a splash of coconut milk? I may also add some finely minced fresh cilantro to the mango mixture the next time I try this. For those of you who are concerned about the amount of fat in the brie cheese, use some light mozzarella cheese instead. This was so refreshing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I wanted this to be so delicious. It's 3 of my favorite things in the world, all together in one dish! In reality, it was just OK. The flavors didn't work as well together as I would have thought. The brie gets a little lost. I'd make it again, but I'll have to play around with the ingredients, maybe a less flavorful fish or a stronger-tasting cheese. One warning - make sure your mangos are very ripe, or you won't have a sauce, you'll have caramelized mango chunks. Mine were way to underripe to turn into a sauce. We still enjoyed them as a "warm mango salsa" sort of thing, but if you're looking for an actual sauce, start with mushy mangos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I tried this recipe and was amazed how good it was. The combination of the three ingedients blended together very well and it does not need anything. Easy to make and clean up was quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This was wonderful! I followed the recipe pretty closely and it was absolutely delicious. I would never have thought to combine the three ingredients, but everything went together. I served it with a spinach salad and it made a nice, flavorful summer dish. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L-Iron Chef
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I thought this turned out just amazing. The mangos were very sweet and refreshing which blended well with the fish and brie softer textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L-Iron Chef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was just okay. It did taste good, but my husband and I like to taste our fish more. Salmon is so tasty, that I don't think it needs to be smothered in brie and mangoes. I made the recipe because I love all the ingredients separately, and in the future that's how I'll keep enjoying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Granted I didn't use Brie, I used Feta and swiss. I also followed another's advice to add garlic (1 clove) to the mango, and salt and pepper the salmon. The salmon was great, the mango sauce/topping was great. I am not so sure of the cheese. My husband called it "interesting" and "different." I may try again in the future when I have Brie. I thought it was tasty- I gave it a four and he gave it a 2/3. I also used flash frozen salmon and frozen mango. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was just OK. Nothing to write home about nor is it a dish that we would prepare again. My husband and I love all the ingredients in this dish but once prepared it was underwhelming. The leftovers that we have we actually removed the brie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe was delicious! So flavorful and easy. The only thing I would suggest would be to add a dab more brie on each piece of salmon a couple of minutes before it's done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States