Salmon with Dijon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This was very good! However, next time I'll use slightly less flour. My "sauce" turned into an extremely thick paste which could not be poured over the salmon, it had to be spread on! Otherwise, the flavor was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Troy Kilborn, this was absolutely fabulous!! Since I was serving rice on the side, I doubled the sauce (except the flour, used only 1/3 cup), and added just a slight pinch of salt. The wonderful sauce and the sour cream on the salmon surface, take away any fishy or strong flavor. Made this for the first time, today, and served it to friends. You received RAVE reviews. It's such simple elegance. Served with rice, fresh asparagus and rolls, and additional Chardonnay to drink, it was a totally delicious dinner. Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful recipe! Do you have any more like this up your sleeve?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I absolutely love this recipe. The salmon stays very moist and the sauce tastes great. I can see where the sauce could become too thick, but I kept a close eye on it and varied the flour as I went. Very easy to prepare. Would be great for any occasion. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I did like this recipe, the salmon was flaky and not dry, the sauce went beautifully over the fish. I did a little different with the sauce, I sweated the shallots in 1 tbsp. butter, then wine. Reduced wine/butter/shallot mixture to about 2 tbsp. I added 3 tbsp. flour, made a roux, followed by half & half and a bit of water until the sauce is a bit thin and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
There is so much missing in this sauce - it is very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Good but a little bland. Cream sauce got way too thick while cooking, perhaps I overheated it. Husband loved the recipe and kids ate it so I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Fantastic!!! I made this recipe when we had company coming over. Everyone raved and even the kids loved it. I did omit the flour in the sauce and added 1 Tbsp. dill to the sauce. I served this with new potatoes and fresh green beans! This recipe is a keeper!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I'm glad I didn't pour this dreadful sauce over the expensive salmon before tasting it. I didn't make any changes so therefore was faced with this extremely thick tastleless sauce. I had to add more cream, wine, dijon, onion salt, garlic, pepper but nothing helped. Way too much flour. I used sockeye fillets and 30 minutes would have been far too long at that temperature. There are far better salmon recipes on this site. My husband & daughter didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
4.5 Stars! I made this dish last minute; I had the ingredients on hand. It was easy and really didn't take too long. I followed the recipe as printed and everyone liked it - with just a little bit of complaint about calories and fat. I think it would be exceptional with broiled salmon and JUST the dijon cream sauce on the side. Also, we used the cream sauce tonight with left over chicken and potato cakes and it was AWESOME. The sauce is a great addition to vegies, starches and meats. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
The salmon was fabulous with the sour cream sauce on top. I mixed the dill and pepper, along with some red pepper and a pinch of salt, directly into the sour cream. The fish was moist and flavorful. However, the dijon cream sauce, in my opinion, was horrible. I reduced the flour to two Tbs. so the consistency was good, but it was incredibly bland. I tried adding garlic, salt, dill, lemon juice, onion powder and pepper, but nothing helped. I will definitely make the salmon again...without the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon Dijon

This recipe is simple enough for busy weeknights, elegant enough for parties.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States