Salmon with Dijon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I absolutely love this recipe. The salmon stays very moist and the sauce tastes great. I can see where the sauce could become too thick, but I kept a close eye on it and varied the flour as I went. Very easy to prepare. Would be great for any occasion. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Good but a little bland. Cream sauce got way too thick while cooking, perhaps I overheated it. Husband loved the recipe and kids ate it so I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
This was very good! However, next time I'll use slightly less flour. My "sauce" turned into an extremely thick paste which could not be poured over the salmon, it had to be spread on! Otherwise, the flavor was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
4.5 Stars! I made this dish last minute; I had the ingredients on hand. It was easy and really didn't take too long. I followed the recipe as printed and everyone liked it - with just a little bit of complaint about calories and fat. I think it would be exceptional with broiled salmon and JUST the dijon cream sauce on the side. Also, we used the cream sauce tonight with left over chicken and potato cakes and it was AWESOME. The sauce is a great addition to vegies, starches and meats. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Fantastic!!! I made this recipe when we had company coming over. Everyone raved and even the kids loved it. I did omit the flour in the sauce and added 1 Tbsp. dill to the sauce. I served this with new potatoes and fresh green beans! This recipe is a keeper!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Troy Kilborn, this was absolutely fabulous!! Since I was serving rice on the side, I doubled the sauce (except the flour, used only 1/3 cup), and added just a slight pinch of salt. The wonderful sauce and the sour cream on the salmon surface, take away any fishy or strong flavor. Made this for the first time, today, and served it to friends. You received RAVE reviews. It's such simple elegance. Served with rice, fresh asparagus and rolls, and additional Chardonnay to drink, it was a totally delicious dinner. Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful recipe! Do you have any more like this up your sleeve?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
FANTASTIC! I used less flour in the sauce & it was perfect. I served what little was left over for brunch with home grown tomatoes and English muffins. This sauce also worked very well with talipia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
I used this recipe for the sauce to top a BBQ'd cedar plank salmon. As many mentioned before the flour was a bit too much so I ended up adding double of everything else. The sauce was still a bit thick. I also added a bit of tarragon as the flavor seemed to lack any significant character (maybe it was the mustard I used). None the less this is a good place to start for what could be a wonderful salmon sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwest03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I cooked the salmon differently, (see: salmon in the dishwasher - great method!) But the sauce I tried. Was not impressed. Like the others, I reduced the flour and it was still way too thick. Tried adding more half and half. The flavor was not there, tried more mustard, tarragon, etc. Not a success. I almost hated the thought of putting it on my very precious and costly wild salmon fillets. My husband did like it, but I would look elsewhere for a creamy dijon sauce, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I am not sure if you had problems with it being too thick because of half and half we used plain 2% milk and it was wonderful. Served at party and this salmon was the first to disappear we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon Dijon

This recipe is simple enough for busy weeknights, elegant enough for parties.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States