Salmon with Dijon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Follow the sauce recipe exactly "except" reduce the flour to 1T, add some garlic, tarragon and seasoned salt to the sauce. That's what was missing for us. Did you guys get into the Chardonnay? Pinot Grigio works better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Very bland. Needs something more..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
The sour cream sauce you bake the salmon with in the oven tasted bland. The dijon sauce you add is tastey, but a bit too thick. This recipe has potential, but the ingredients need to be adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
overall it is a very easy, time-saving way to approach salmon. however, the flour used is too much, i've already reduce it in half, i guess timing is very important as well, so once you pour in the half-half and flour mixture, cook for another 15-20 seconds, that's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Delicious. I followed the recipe pretty closely except I didn't have any dill. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shorewood, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I'm glad I didn't pour this dreadful sauce over the expensive salmon before tasting it. I didn't make any changes so therefore was faced with this extremely thick tastleless sauce. I had to add more cream, wine, dijon, onion salt, garlic, pepper but nothing helped. Way too much flour. I used sockeye fillets and 30 minutes would have been far too long at that temperature. There are far better salmon recipes on this site. My husband & daughter didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
The salmon was fabulous with the sour cream sauce on top. I mixed the dill and pepper, along with some red pepper and a pinch of salt, directly into the sour cream. The fish was moist and flavorful. However, the dijon cream sauce, in my opinion, was horrible. I reduced the flour to two Tbs. so the consistency was good, but it was incredibly bland. I tried adding garlic, salt, dill, lemon juice, onion powder and pepper, but nothing helped. I will definitely make the salmon again...without the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Yummy!!! This is so good! the only thing i did was use half of the flour. Will absolutely make this again1 Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Fair, not anything that we went crazy over. I added 3 shallots and 2x's the dill but overall it was still somewhat bland. I probably will not make again considering the calorie/fat content and the fact that it was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I did like this recipe, the salmon was flaky and not dry, the sauce went beautifully over the fish. I did a little different with the sauce, I sweated the shallots in 1 tbsp. butter, then wine. Reduced wine/butter/shallot mixture to about 2 tbsp. I added 3 tbsp. flour, made a roux, followed by half & half and a bit of water until the sauce is a bit thin and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Salmon Dijon

This recipe is simple enough for busy weeknights, elegant enough for parties.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States