Salmon with Creamy Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Made this tonight and everyone seemed to love it. I used green onions instead of regular onions and chicken broth instead of the wine but otherwise followed the directions. I made extra sauce to stir into some pasta for a side dish. The salmon turned out wonderful and the pasta was creamy and flavorful. My husband didn't want to try at it at first because it had mayo in it but once I convinced him he loved it. So did the kids. Definitely going to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Connelly
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I love this recipe and so did my young children! I did have some substitutions. I didn't use the onion salt or lemon wedges, but used garlic powder and lemon pepper on the salmon, in addition to the butter. I left out the wine , the capers, the brine and used mustard horseradish and plain yoghurt instead of the sour cream. I will make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lifes_1_journey
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Great recipe. I skipped the capers and used prepared mustard instead of horseradish since that's all I had on hand. As others have mentioned, don't feel you need to follow this recipe verbatim. I think the salmon would've tasted just the same if you put salt, pepper and lemon wedges on it. At the end of the day it's the dill sauce that makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made it last night, love it, love the sauce, love the salmon. This is a keeper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I have never reviewed a recipe. This one was a MUST! This was the BEST dill sauce I have ever had. I have tried replicating a local restaurant's sauce with no luck...which was the only reason I always ordered the salmon dish...for the dill sauce. I am so pleased with this recipe, that now I actually like this one better. The only thing I didn't put in it was the onion and simply because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was really good! I left out the butter and drizzled a dill, fennel flavored olive oil instead. I baked this on the BBQ instead of the oven and served it with orzo, chopped red pepper, green onion, zucchini, and some shredded parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by colleen
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
love, love love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
My husband loved this!!! I added about double the horseradish in the sauce, just because my husband likes it spicy. He told me I should use this recipe in place of the tartar sauce recipe. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Ok, to be honest I bought the raw stuffed salmon from Costco and was looking for a creamy dill sauce to pair with it...I was stoked to find this! The sauce is to die for...and really, it's totally open to just add more or add less depending on your liking of certain ingredients. I didn't have any white wine so I didn't add it and honestly I don't feel like it's missing anything. I put about three times the amount of capers but left the caper juice at what was called for. I also put much more dill. SOOOOO good! I'm making cheese tortellini to go with it all and plan to put the sauce onto the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
The sauce is absolutely fantastic! Lots of zip and flavour! The only thing I changed was the white wine. I don't drink wine and know no one who does, so I can't justify buying a bottle for 1/4 cup. Instead, I used 1/8c of white wine vinegar and 1/8c of water mixed with 1/2 tbsp of sugar. This is a great white wine substitute for anyone out there like me. I can never taste the difference. Again...Fantastic sauce, DH and DS raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States