Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is very sweet...the fish ends up with a nice flavor but resist the urge to add more sauce to the fish after cooking. Ends up tasting like candied salmon (if there is such a thing) on thin pieces of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
My husband made this for Valentine's Day for us, and is making it again tonight for my birthday. This has become one of my favorite meals! He cooked the salmon exactly as described in the recipe, and everything came out really well. He used Jim Beam Red Stag bourbon (which has a cherry flavor), and the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freedominwordz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shelle
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Truely wonderful, easy, delicious salmon recipe. I made it exactly as stated. Just added chopped pecans to the sauce after cooking the fish as a topping. Placed on a bed of cooked brussel sprout salad (check out the photo). Makes a nice contrast to the sweetness of the fish and sauce. This is good enough for my next dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This recipe is very good! I made it two nights in a row - the first night for a dinner party and the next night for the remaining salmon fillet (uncooked) we had left over. Doing so presented an interesting experience: the first night, with 5 smaller fillets in the pan, the sauce was perfect. Tonight, with one fillet, but the same quantity of ingredients so we'd have extra sauce, it caramelized. Either way, it was still good, but I guess the recipe cooks better with more fillets to absorb the sauce. I made this with the recipe on this site titled, Green Beans with Almonds, and put the salmon on a bed of long-grain brown rice. The combination was awesome! "Gourmet like a restaurant" was the compliment it got. Given that I am still rather new to cooking, this was high praise to receive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This would have been great if I didn't follow the reviews that said adding soy sauce was a good idea- it isn't. Thankfully, the way I did the salmon was cooked partially in the brown sugar-butter mixture flesh side down then finished in a 350F oven for 15-20 mins and then did the sauce, adding maple whiskey and soy. Served the sauce on the side, and no one liked it. The salmon with brown sugar glaze is tasty, not too sweet at all. Of course, this is meant to be eaten right after making, other wise it turns to caramel. I will re-make a small portion of sauce without soy for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious!!! Have used this recipe for a long time, once a week! we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
One of my faves - been making it for years now! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
We thought this would be strong and tasty, but really it was just sweet (too sweet). You could smell the bourbon while it was cooking (for much less than 5 minutes a side!), but when it was done it didn't tast smoky, just sweet. It was something different, but not what we like or were looking for, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is the first time I've ever been disappointed by a highly rated recipe on here. I had to cook the salmon longer than the 10 minutes in the recipe, which led to a caramel sauce that solidified the instant it left the pan. To make matters worse, the salmon was not done. If I were ever to make this again I'd cook the salmon a while before creating the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I think this failed because of me, because everyone else seemed to have success. I used med-low heat, but the sugar burned, made a huge mess and the salmon didn't really cook through in the time (Probably due to low heat). I'd give it another try if it wasn't going to take me forever to get burned sugar off my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States