Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This would have been great if I didn't follow the reviews that said adding soy sauce was a good idea- it isn't. Thankfully, the way I did the salmon was cooked partially in the brown sugar-butter mixture flesh side down then finished in a 350F oven for 15-20 mins and then did the sauce, adding maple whiskey and soy. Served the sauce on the side, and no one liked it. The salmon with brown sugar glaze is tasty, not too sweet at all. Of course, this is meant to be eaten right after making, other wise it turns to caramel. I will re-make a small portion of sauce without soy for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious!!! Have used this recipe for a long time, once a week! we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
One of my faves - been making it for years now! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
We thought this would be strong and tasty, but really it was just sweet (too sweet). You could smell the bourbon while it was cooking (for much less than 5 minutes a side!), but when it was done it didn't tast smoky, just sweet. It was something different, but not what we like or were looking for, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This is the first time I've ever been disappointed by a highly rated recipe on here. I had to cook the salmon longer than the 10 minutes in the recipe, which led to a caramel sauce that solidified the instant it left the pan. To make matters worse, the salmon was not done. If I were ever to make this again I'd cook the salmon a while before creating the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I think this failed because of me, because everyone else seemed to have success. I used med-low heat, but the sugar burned, made a huge mess and the salmon didn't really cook through in the time (Probably due to low heat). I'd give it another try if it wasn't going to take me forever to get burned sugar off my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Quick and easy. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was good, but next time I will not spoon the sauce over the salmon....it was very thick and caramel-like and stuck to our forks drawing long strings of the sugary substance from the plate to our mouths....not an easy eating experience. Once we scraped the sauce off the remaining salmon, we really enjoyed it. To sum it up, we really liked the flavoring the sauce gave to the salmon, but didn't enjoy the sauce itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittneyT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Really good! It is pretty sweet but very tasty. Now I don't have to order this at our favorite restaurant, I can make it whenever I want & save money! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States