Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is a recipe I also use and get rave reviews over. However....I adapted it 3 yrs ago from TX Land and Cattle restaurant's version, only they use brown sugar and Shiner Bock dark beer! With this bourbon version, I lay my fillets out and gently press the brown sugar into the fillets, then sprinkle them with the bourbon - I let them "rest" for about 30 minutes before quickly browning the sugar glazed filets over med-high heat in a non-stick saucepan, about 2 min each side. I wrap up the cooking process by popping them in the microwave for 1-1 1/2 minutes, depending on the thickness of the filets. These filets make a terrific presentation in a romaine-based salad with a topping of honey and brown sugar glazed coarsely chopped pecans (Johnny Carino's restaurants serve it like this) Enjoy! Impressive and will work well over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. I'm not sure why the previous reviewers experienced burned food, I had no problems. Just in case though, be sure not to use too much heat. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
The only change I made to the recipe was to soak my salmon in milk first to help counteract that fishy flavor. I was hoping that the bourbon would make "saucier" caramel but it all evaporated off & the caramel was indeed, caramel. I made extra to use as a topping & as soon as it hit the plate it solidified into a pretty tasty, chewy morsel of caramel. But who wants to peel caramel off their plate? LOL The flavor was great paired w/ the salmon though so next time, I'll add the bourbon later so that it doesn't all cook off. I paired this w/ brown rice cooked in wine & chicken broth & a salad w/ rice pudding for dessert. Thansk for a nice recipe Debbie F...we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Great recipe! I experimented by substituting soy sauce for the bourbon and I loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Delicious! I took the advice of another user and added 1/4 cup soy sauce and a crushed garlic clove, added with the bourbon. I let the sauce simmer to a glaze after I removed the fish. The glaze is very flavorful/sweet, so if you are afraid of overpowering your salmon, I'd skip this recipe or leave the extra glaze off. I, however, enjoy the strong, sweet flavor and used a generous amount over my fish and brown rice :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
WOW!!!! Only the words of my fiance could do this recipe justice. "This is like gor-met or something!" Very simple to make. I served it with white rice, corn on the cob, and cherry tomatoes in dressing. It was a very appealing presentation. 5 STARS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Absolutely delicious! My husband raved about it! Definitely fit for guests and it tastes like you spent hours on it, but it only takes minutes. I will be making this on a regular basis. This is the best salmon recipe I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I used Schwans frozen salmon pieces, which when cooked produced a little more liquid than the original recipe called for. To compensate, I left the salmon in the pan, turned the heat off, and continued cooking my vegetables. This worked out great!!!! The sauce formed a thin crust on the salmon. The flavor was wonderful and the leftover salmon was great in a caeser salad the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I thought this was very good, but it was VERY sweet - I love sweet sauces with meat, but it was a bit too sweet for my husband and daughter. If you like the bourbon taste, also try the orange and bourbon grilled salmon recipe - it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This was ok but I won't make it again. Be careful with the temp.--the sugar burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States