Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I have used this recipe several times with fresh salmon. Everyone compares it to a gourmet meal prepared in an expensive restaurant. I make no changes to the receipe as written, however, the fresh alaskan salmon I have been using is not real thick so I have to cook on low to barly medium heat. Just adjust temperature according to salmon tickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
So easy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was really great!! I love salmon and am always looking for new ways to make it. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
We doubled the sauce and cooked the salmon on the grill in a foil boat. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
After reading previous reviews, I sprinkled each filet with salt, used a combo of half butter and olive oil, and cooked the fish over lower heat than stated. Turned out great!! Will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Love this recipe. Great way to get my family to eat their fish. My husband does not like fish, especially salmon. He loved this. I served it up with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans. Definitely a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was excellent! I used blackened salmon that I got from Sam's Club, and reduced the serving size to 2. I used Splenda Brown Sugar and reduced that to 2 tablespoons instead of 1/4 cup. It turned out delicious. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was great! Family loved it. Maybe a little on the sweet side but good none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
FANTASTIC! Made this with filets, rather than steaks. The trick is the low heat. Excellent flavor and a great sauce to drizzle with. Simple ingredients and a quick prep time. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
this was a great recipe...i def. took all the suggestions....i 1st soaked the fillet salmon in milk for about 10-15mins...then i laid the fillet in a baking pan added the dark brown sugar and the bourbon to the fillet. Then 1 min later i added some slices of pineapple with a pinch of pineapple juice to the fillet, bourbon, and dark brown sugar. I let it all soak for 30 mins. Then after the 30 mins was up, i pretty much followed the direction as stated....Melted the butter in a skillet( REDUCE THE HEAT). I then added additional dark brown sugar( about 1/4 cup) to the melted butter, then i added the fillet...cooked it for about 5mins, turned the salmon over and poured the previous bourbon that was in the baking pan over the filler, then continued cooking the salmon for another 5 mins. After cooking the salmon in the skillet i then removed the salmon from the skillet and placed them in a flat plate and microwaved them for 2 mins to allow for a better thickness....After microwaving i used the glaze from the skillet and poured it over the salmon( I must add that if you are not in a rush wait for the galze to cool down to allow for a thicker glaze).....I was in a rush and i just poured it over and it was still great...I just made this today for a potluck i went to and did not even taste it...Everyone who attended the potluck LOVED IT....They were mad when it ran out....Will def. make again....As far as the sides goes...I made wild rice to compliment this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States