Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I tried this recipe but wanted to cut down on the fat/sugar content so I substituted 2 Tbsp of worchestershire and 2 Tbsp of lite soy sauce for the 4 Tbsp of butter and added a Tbsp of olive oil. I whisked in a 1/4 cup of brown sugar (instead of 1/2) and let that heat to a boil over medium heat before adding the salmon which i peppered on both sides with fresh ground pepper. I didn't change the cooking times or instructions after that. The family enjoyed it; especially my 13 year-old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wonderful! Super quick-I added some soy sauce and garlic to cut the sweetness a little and I used crown royal since thats what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
definately a make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I tried this recipe. It turned out great and I liked it, however, my family gave it a thumbs down and said to never make it again. While I liked it, I have had better prepared salmon and only planned to make it again if everyone liked it. There is nothing wrong with the recipe itself, just not to our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I'm giving this a 5, even though it was a bit too sweet. We LOVED the ingredients, and I think the next time I'll cut back a little on the brown sugar and add a little garlic. We loved the flavor of Jack Daniel's! Served over sticky rice? Ohh, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Wonderful! I added fresh minced garlic, but otherwise made it just as the recipe stated. My husband is temporarily on a completely salt-free diet for medical reasons, and it's nearly impossible to find decent recipes that don't call for salt. I did add salt to mine at the table, but it was great even without it. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This ended up turning out okay but I had to make the sauce twice because it ended up burning. I thought it was good but way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Yummy! Patted the salmon with salmon before placing in the heated butter. Cooked one side of the salmon, when I flipped it, I poured the bourbon on the salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
this was great! i took other reviewers' advice and let the salmon soak in the bourbon/brown sugar mixture for 3O minutes first and poured it over the fish in the pan after turning. i kept my flame on low and it turned out terrific. i also let the glaze thicken before serving. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was a good recipe. I enjoyed it very much and it was easy to make. I didn't have dark brown sugar so I added a 1/4 tablespoon vanilla extract to light brown sugar. I don't usually saute salmon, only bake it, so I wasn't sure when it was done. Be careful not to over cook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States