Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This is an interesting recipe, but it is too sweet. I used 2 tbs brown sugar (I had only 4 salmon pieces) and 3 tbs soy sauce and the salmon still was sweet. The bourbon flavor was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
My mom has been making this same recipie for years, she talked a chef at a certain resturant into giving it to her, after my parents ate and fell in love with this divine salmon dish. The first time I made it for my husband of a year and a half, he swooned! Its just such a great combo! I recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I had a couple small salmon fillets in the freezer so I decided to cook them up. I am glad I found this recipe! I will definitely make this again!! Thank you for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was like eatting salmon dipped in carmel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I followed the directions as written and personally really liked this, even though it is quite sweet. My boyfriend, on the other hand, did not like the sweetness of it. I prepared as written and served it over a brown rice with sesame green beans on the side. Made for a very nice meal. I will make this again... just not for my boyfriend. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe is awesome. Gourmet tasting. I didn't have any Bourbon in the house but I did have Brandy. I followed the recipe as it was listed and it was a little sweet. Probably because of the brandy. So, at the end of cooking I added some soysauce to it to counteract the sweetness and it made a wonderful combination. Remember this is only due to the use of the brandy versus bourbon. Fantastic and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
first, i soaked the fillets in milk per other reviewers, and then gently pressed the sugar in the fillets, sprinkled the bourbon on top and let them rest for an hour or so (again, another reviewer's advise). i could not even eat it. it was waaaaaaaaaaay too sweet, and i usually LOVE sweet things. this was just too much. i really thought it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I was a hero with this recipe. Very easy and tasty. My kids loved it. Next time I would lighten up on the bourbon a bit...a little of that flavor goes a long way. Also, I used filets instead of a steak cut.... It took about a minute(of cook time) off of each side. Served with rice, salad and fresh fruit...what a hit this made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is fantastic as-is! I've made it several times with great results, and it's now a favorite of ours. For variation, try using Amaretto (like Disaronno) instead of the bourbon - it's yummy served on a spring mix salad with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKEDDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and was very disappointed. It was so sweet that we couldn't even finish it. I thought the bourbon would counteract the sweetness of brown sugar, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States