Salmon and Swiss Chard Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was wonderful! So easy to make too. I made a couple of little modifications: I used sourdough croutons (I crushed them up into crumbs) instead of regular bread crumbs, I sauteed some fresh chopped garlic (1 clove) with the onion and chard, added a dash more nutmeg, and added about 1/3 cup of crumbled feta cheese on top of quiche 5 mins. before removing from oven- absolutely delicious! Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I used an entire bunch of swiss chard and 2 213g cans of red sockeye salmon. I didn't butter the pie pan but used buttery snack cracker (Ritz) crumbs instead of plain bread crumbs. And because the salmon didn't need cooking I simply layered chard, salmon and poured a mixture of cold milk and beaten eggs into 2 10" deep dish pie pans. Very simple and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breanna W.
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This was really good! I made a lot of changes to it because I cannot eat dairy, but the salmon and swiss chard combination was really delicious. I skipped the first two steps because I used a pre-made pie dough and good quality canned salmon (this cut out some time and work). I also used more swiss chard and less salmon because that is what I had on hand. I used olive oil in place of the butter, and Almond milk in place of the milk to make this non-dairy. It turned out wonderful and I have made it several times! I also use the core part of this recipe (3 eggs to 1 cup milk in a pie shell) to use up just about any left over veggies. If you have the pre-made rolled pie dough on hand the prep part of this dinner is done in just minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
We LOVED this recipe! We followed it almost exactly, except that we found you really don't need to use as much milk as is recommended to simmer the salmon. We doubled the recipe (making one to freeze) and only needed about 3 cups of milk (not 4). (See how later in the recipe you only use part of the milk again.) It could use a little salt when you stir in the eggs and milk. We made it in a whole wheat pie crust (so we didn't use the bread crumbs), baking it 7 min longer than the directions. Wonderful, wonderful! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This is a lovely dish. colorful, flavorful -- perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner. It's more of a frittata, because of the lack of crust. I baked it in a quiche dish. I used leftover grilled salmon, and simmered it in a little more than half the milk called for in the recipe to give it a little more moisture. I served it with some grated parmesan cheese, sour cream and salsa. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle WizardNewfs Bingham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was yummy. I cooked the salmon in only 1 cup of milk so I wasn't wasting any. I also added feta cheese to the top and cooked it in a pre-made whole wheat crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This has a strong but pleasant flavor, and is also very pretty and fairly easy to make. The breadcrumb bottom isn't my favorite, but with a real crust this would definitely be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This recipe was fantastic! I'm not very big on salmon or quiche, however, the recipe was so good that my husband and I agreed that it was a keeper. I did follow the recipe exactly, except I used a pie crust instead of breadcrumbs and cooked it for about five minutes longer than what was originally stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Sooooo surprised. I added this to my weekly menu under "trying something new" and was very pleasantly surprised. To make things quick and easy on a weeknight I used canned salmon, a frozen pie crust from the store and just used a touch of soymilk in the egg mixture. It was fantastic. Also great the next day as lunch. Just heated it up in the office microwave...ta dah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was very good but I didn't realize it had no cheese until I was well into the recipe. It confused me but I decided to follow the recipe. I definitely need a cheese flavor in my quiche, I've decided so next time I will grate some Swiss cheese and put that in there. I used a regular crust and and I was very glad for that. Makes the dish for me. This was light and eggy and tasted so good for you. I will make again when I have extra swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States