Salmon and Swiss Chard Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Have been trying to use more dark leafy greens in my cooking and this fit the bill. I did use canned salmon as other reviewers had, rinsing it a bit to lower the sodium content. Upon serving it for a quick evening meal, my husband commented that he felt it needed some cheese, so I sprinkled some on top & he felt that made it complete. Definitely a winner! Next time I may incorporate the cheese into the body of the quiche and add one more egg. Thanks SnagleB for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Sooooo surprised. I added this to my weekly menu under "trying something new" and was very pleasantly surprised. To make things quick and easy on a weeknight I used canned salmon, a frozen pie crust from the store and just used a touch of soymilk in the egg mixture. It was fantastic. Also great the next day as lunch. Just heated it up in the office microwave...ta dah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was delicious, and a great new way to use salmon. I used a prepared pie crust, and my whole family loved it, even my picky 3 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was very good but I didn't realize it had no cheese until I was well into the recipe. It confused me but I decided to follow the recipe. I definitely need a cheese flavor in my quiche, I've decided so next time I will grate some Swiss cheese and put that in there. I used a regular crust and and I was very glad for that. Makes the dish for me. This was light and eggy and tasted so good for you. I will make again when I have extra swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I loved this! Even my picky two-year old devoured hers up. I didn't use the bread crumbs, just buttered the dish and poured the salmon/swiss chard mixture/egg on top. I used a canned salmon because that is what I had on hand and it made preparing this dish very easy. I buttered my dish, put down a layer of salmon, a layer of swiss chard/onions and then put the eggs on top. I used 4 eggs and a few egg whites because my eggs were on the smaller side. I omitted the nutmeg and marjoram because I didn't have any and added cayenne pepper for some heat. This is definitely a very tasty 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Good, but didn't "wow" me. I needed to use up my Chard and this was a little different, and i enjoyed this, but I don't know if it will be a go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This is very easy to make and it's a great way to use the large bunches of Swiss Chard that came in my seasonal veggie box. I still like my quiche better with pastry crust, and I still like to use half and half instead of milk for a creamier and less watery filling (not quite so healthy this way, I know). The nutmeg seasoning is just perfect to blend all the flavors together. Nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelyking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
nice mixture of flavors. very rich and filling. I added an extra egg and a premade pie crust and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
A tasty dish overall. I think an actual pie crust would make it better (though more carby) and I had to use halibut because only farm raised salmon was available. Next time I'll wait for the good salmon because I think it would have been more aromatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I got in a hurry with this so it was probably more operator error than recipe error, but I just wasn't that impressed with the flavors. Of course, salmon is not a typical food item for us either. However it is a great way to use up too much swiss chard...tastes very similar to spinach! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States