Salmon and Spinach Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Excellent, I didnt have fresh oregano so I used a little dried. I also added some shrimp and used leftover barbecued salmon. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Wow, this is excellent. I would only make this using real grated Parmesan cheese, either grate it yourself or buy it as grated shreds...not the kind that you shake out of a jar! You will save a lot of salt by avoiding the canned Parmesan. Even with the real Parmesan it was still ever so slightly salty, so next time I will try using unsalted butter. This time I used shrimp, but will use left-over grilled salmon (or smoked salmon if I can afford it) in the future. For the sauce, I only used 2T of butter, added 1/8 tsp cayenne as well as a little parsley, and used white wine to thin it. In a separate pan, I used 1/2 T butter to saute fresh minced garlic, 1 tsp dried oregano, a little ground black pepper, then sauteed the shrimp in the mixture and added the fresh spinach at the very end so it was just wilted. Then I mixed the sauteed ingredients with the sauce and pasta. I did not have capers on hand this time. This was a restaurant quality dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was a big hit. I made this on the fly and did not have a few ingredients. I was missing capers and I used grilled salmon, and dried oregano. I can't wait to try again with capers ~ I know it will be even better!! I did spill some of my white wine in as it did get too thick ~ which is weird considering how little flour there was. My girls devoured this...and they claim to hate fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I made this last night, and thought it was excellent. I'm giving it four stars because I made a few modifications as suggested by others. I used salmon I baked in the oven, not smoked, and I used baby spinach that I sauteed in some olive oil with finely chopped garlic and onion. When I added the spinach to the sauce I added it with the garlic and onion. I also added some white wine, and some ground black pepper. I only had dried oregano so I used a couple tsps of it instead of fresh. I used 1% milk, and I thought the sauce was a thick enough consistency, without being too thin or too grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
We used fresh salmon and it was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I had high hopes for this recipe but was very disappointed because this dish was extremely salty. I made as is but used packaged parmesan and dried oregano because I didn't have fresh on hand. Not sure those fresh ingredients would have been enough to make this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made this exactly according to the instructions. I am surprised that no one else said anything about the consistency of the sauce. Because it uses flour/milk instead of cream, it comes out the thickness and color of roux (and has flour lumps unless you sift it). I tasted it while cooking, and it tasted like nothing; and that was after I added garlic to it. So, I added salt. Of course, after this it only tasted like salt. After I added all of the other ingredients the dish didn't look appetizing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Made (4 serving size) as printed except changed amt to 1 tbsp oregano (who would use 1/2 cup?!?!?!?). Recipe is delicious, but will cut capers in half next time, thin out the sauce with chicken broth, add half cut mushrooms, 1/2 tsp garlic, dash of cooking wine, and cut butter in half. Didn't like the smoked salmon, so will grill salmon next time, or use shrimp and artificial crabmeat. Also will add a little cream cheese on a batch sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delicious, but sauce turned out to be too little or too dry/thick for 8 oz of pasta. Next time I will add more milk or maybe less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
We loved this. We used fresh salmon (just baked it in the oven and then cut it up) and skim milk. Also used marjarine instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States