Salmon and Spinach Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Good recipe. I'll make this again. I took the suggestion from another poster and added a little cream cheese. I only had skim milk and the sauce wouldn't have been creamy without it. I also used freshly grated parmesan; I wouldn't used the canned stuff. Used about 1 tsp of dried oregano since I didn't have fresh oregano on hand. Baked salmon in the oven rather than using smoked salmon (seasoned with a little olive oil and italian seasoning). Also added some toasted almond slivers (very nice addition!). I would have preferred pine nuts but did not have any. Otherwise, followed the recipe and we were pleased. My husband doesn't like fish so I put very little salmon in his bowl. He actually added more fish! I couldn't believe it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I wanted to impress a guy and made this...and he was beaming with delight at how great this was!!! He wasnt sure that he'd like capers but I do so I used them. He loved everything!!!! I followed the recipe exactly. To add a contrast in color I used spinach fettuccine, which complements the color of the salmon sauce mixture. And I actually used 3/4 pound of smoked salmon fresh from the market. Definately a keeper and I will make it again and again for a definate crowd pleaser that takes absolutely no time at all. GREAT RECIPE. THANK YOU SOOO MUCH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe! Great way to use left over salmon steaks. I recommend subsituting cream cheese instead of butter- this is a restaraunt quality recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
We used cream and milk to make it creamier. Also upped the milk volume a bit because it was so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I'm giving this 4 stars because it had really good flavor although I wish it would have specified that you have to simmer the sauce for a LONG time to get the right consistency. Mine was kind of gritty but now I know for next time! I used italian seasoning instead of oregano and diced tomatoes instead of sun-dried. No capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I grilled a piece of salmon and omitted the flour and milk and used heavy cream instead. I also used 1tsp dried oregano. My husband loved it. I did not try it because I don't like salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TryinToCook =P
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
The amount of oregano is a bit excessive, smoked salmon overpowers the flavor of it all, did not use capers, a little bit on the salty side. Overall I liked the idea of the recipe, will make minor modifications next time. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
My husband loved this, but I felt that the 1/2 cup of oregano was a little overwhelming and the dish was a little too salty. However, I would make it again using less oregano and eliminating the capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennP
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Excellent! We LOVED this dish and had it for a nice romantic meal. We used salmon fillets instead of the smoked salmon, and had no capers on hand. It was delicious and one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I was in a pinch for dinner last night, and used the Allrecipes ingredient search option to find this recipe. I used a 1 lb. salmon fillet which I marinated in Italian Dressing for a few hours and grilled it on George Foreman before cutting it in chunks. I doubled the sauce to compensate for the amount of salmon and spinach (I thawed a 10 oz. box of chopped spinach) but I kept the amount of capers and sun-dried tomatoes the same. I really enjoyed this, I thought it was very tasty and yet chock full of yummy good-for-you foods. Hubby enjoyed too, but stated he would enjoy it better with chopped chicken instead of salmon. oh well, he's never been much of a fish eater. I would probably give this recipe a 3.5 star rating if that was an option. Recipes only get 5 stars from me if both husband and I agree on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States