Salmon and Shrimp Cakes from Chef Bubba Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
These are fantastic! They also make a great appetizer! I used a mini muffin pan greased with a light spritz of cooking spray and a cookie scoop for more consistent results and baked them at 400 degree for 8 minutes. Let cool a little before removing from the pan or else they might fall apart. They're adorable and even kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great seafood option! Shrimp and salmon are about the only two seafood items my husband will eat, so I was really happy to find this recipe. I did find it was lacking a bit of flavor after baking, so I sprinkled with salt and Old Bay. Next time, I will add 1 teaspoon of each to the recipe when mixing and will probably add a dollop of lemon juice as well. Used Panko instead of whole wheat bread crumbs and omitted the jalapeno because we don't care for it. I ended up with 9 medium size cakes, baked at 400 for 25 minutes. Perfection. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
These were delicious! I modified slightly (didn't have chives or jalepeno). I sauteed chopped white onion, celery, and minced garlic with the red pepper. I used combination of panko bread crumbs and coursely crushed dry stuffing mix bread cubes. I replaced some of the cream cheese with mascarpone cheese. Also added cilantro. I only cooked at 400 degrees for about 20 min. Upon taking out of oven, I drizzled a little melted butter and squeezed a fresh lemon on the tops of patties. This recipe made 7 large patties- large enough for a bun, which I served it on with Dijon mustard, mayo, and tomato. It was absolutely fabulous! Awsome recipe! I am saving it and will make again for family/friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
A maz ing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very good. I made the patties and stored them in the fridge until the next day. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These were really good! I didn't have shrimp, so I just used precooked salmon. I also didn't have bread crumbs, so I just added crushed Ritz crackers. We ate leftover as sandwiches (placed cake between a few pieces of bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was sooooo amazing! I didn't have the thyme or basil or chives, but did have fresh celantro, oregano and a dash of Italian seasoning and it was fabulous. It made more then 4 large cakes, but maybe because I didn't measure the shrimp or salmon... Put the left overs in the fridge and the next morning rolled it in cresent dough and put it in the oven... devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I used frozen, cooked shrimp and a can of red Sockeye salmon for this and it turned out great. Didn't fancy the jalapeno pepper so used celery as suggested by previous reviewers. The only improvement I would make - and the reason I didn't give it 5 stars - is that I feel it would benefit from the addition of a good dash of lemon juice. Added this at the table and it was much better. Also, served it with fat-free sour cream which added just that little touch of extra moistness. With the can of salmon and 7 oz of shrimp, I got 7 cakes from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindhawk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
These cakes turned out very dry and had little flavor, even though I followed the recipe to a T. Will probably not try again, although if I do, I will be sure to also prepare a sauce to present with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
A delightful taste cacophony. I used 1/4 2 percent milk and 1 Tablespoon pasteurise process spread instead of cream cheese, and coated the patties with barley flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stagayote54

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States