Salmon and Shrimp Cakes from Chef Bubba Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Finally got around to rating this again having made the recipe as is. These are just awesome in every way. The patties are very generously sized and very filling. This recipe is in our permanent five star file. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Oh, bubba! These were so yummy!The only thing i changed was a rib of celery in place of the jalapeno....but man-oh-man were these good. Just one thing though..... 4 patties? I made 6 ENORMOUS patties (2-3 times the size of normal crab cakes) thanks for sharing them :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Not sure who the Chef Bubba is that submitted this recipe, but the recipe in Ladies Home Journal, June 2007, for Uncle Bubba's Crab Cakes shared by Earl "Bubba" Heirs, co-owner and chef of Uncle Bubba's Oyster House sounds much better. I say that only because they are fried in oil and butter. I think this recipe would be much better if fried in a pan instead of baked. Healthier baked, but they were to dry for me. As another reviewer said, 450 maybe is to hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
sorry, but i didn't make this exactly as written; i omitted things i didn't think i'd care for. none the less...these cakes were FANTASTIC! i omitted: basil, thyme, chives and jalapeno; substituted panko for bread crumbs and for the parmesan cheese - i used the stuff in the green cannister... i thought about adding some garlic salt but i'm glad i trusted my instincts - the cheese made it salty enough. early in the day i cooked up the shrimp, red peppers and salmon - so quick! cooled them down in fridge in a gallon sized freezer bag. later in the day i didn't have time to soften cream cheese so i used a rubber spatula and creamed it together w/egg; added panko and parmesan cheese. broke up salmon right in closed plastic storage bag and then folded it into the cream cheese egg mixture. i had a girls' night out last night so i told my husband to just ice cream scoop onto baking pan, pat down and bake at 400 for 20-30 minutes. he made a mixture of sweet chili sauce & mayo to serve w/the cakes...mmmmm delish! i had the leftovers for lunch today. the whole family agrees....FIVE STARS! thank you for sharing, bubba!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Phenomenal, I will make it a regular meal at my house! I once had some Crab Jalapeno Bites at Phillips Seafood that were phenomenal and I've thought of them ever since - these were just like them! I followed the recipe exactly (even measured) but didn't have whole wheat bread crumbs or chives so I used italian crumbs and red onion. I baked at 400 for 30-35 min based on other reviews which seemed perfect. Next time I would chop the shrimp to marble-size chunks (bigger than I did) to add variety to the texture. I like making this with leftover salmon and frozen cocktail/salad shrimp as a shortcut. A nice chopper (like Pampered Chef) also makes this very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I am constantly trying to come up with new seafood recipes for my boyfriend and i to enjoy (he can only eat halal meat, which is hard to get where I live, so the easiest is to cook seafood). When i served these to him last weekend, he told me that he was never eating seafood outside my house at a restaurant again! My family and i loved them also. I did make a few changes though... Used tinned red salmon (i know! fresh is better but salmon in Australia at the moment is more that $30 per kilo), i didnt use red bell papper because i dont like the taste( used red onion instead and i used jarred jalepeno(cant get fresh here). They were still amazing! Also served with Tartare Sauce I from this site... also amazing! Thanks Bubba
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This recipe was great!!! Everyone loved it!! Instead of jalapenos I added chopped celery, and onions. They were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH7272

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
FIVE Star Plus ! Fantastic gourmet Recipe. A little work, but well worth the effort. I followed directions but used plain breadcrumbs. Served it to dinner guests and all raved about it. Thanks Bubba. Got any more recipes to share ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These were really good! I didn't have shrimp, so I just used precooked salmon. I also didn't have bread crumbs, so I just added crushed Ritz crackers. We ate leftover as sandwiches (placed cake between a few pieces of bread).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
A delightful taste cacophony. I used 1/4 2 percent milk and 1 Tablespoon pasteurise process spread instead of cream cheese, and coated the patties with barley flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stagayote54

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States