Salmon and Shrimp Cakes from Chef Bubba Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I realized I only had half enough cream cheese at the last minute. It didn't matter. They were still awesome! The second time I made them, I added some chopped up water chestnuts I had on hand. They added a nice crunch. This recipe takes a little more prep than I usually have time for, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I absolutely loved this! But, I did make a few changes. I left out the bread crumbs and egg, and replaced the cream cheese with sour cream. I made this into a flavorful shrimp sauce which I poured over the grilled salmon fillets. So, so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cranwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
OH MY....this is good. Out of the twelve patties that were made, my husband ate 11 1/2. Thanks for the recipe Chef Bubba
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
FIVE Star Plus ! Fantastic gourmet Recipe. A little work, but well worth the effort. I followed directions but used plain breadcrumbs. Served it to dinner guests and all raved about it. Thanks Bubba. Got any more recipes to share ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
These were very good. The recipe made alot more than 4 cakes. Next time I would like to add some crab meat. I served them with some asparagus and pasta. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
AMAZING! This made 6 large patties for me. I did make a couple of substitutions: I used left over salmon from grilling the night before, green onions (scallions) instead of chives and Italian breadcrumbs instead of whole wheat. But the result was every bit as good as all the reviews I read here. My hubby thanks you Chef Bubba!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Desiree Boyer

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! Very similar to my favorite restaurant crab cakes - I'll likely be trying this recipe with crab and shrimp next time. This is the second time I made it, and both my husband and I agree that it rivals any seafood patties I've ever made. I made with canned wild salmon (boneless and skinless) and have made it with both fresh and canned shrimp. I use italian breadcrumbs instead of whole wheat, and I only make a half batch (makes about 8 patties, about 2 per serving) Well worth the bit of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Pretty darn nice.. I too added the celery but will try jalepenos for a bit of extra bite next time. I managed to make 6 decent 1/4 pounders! Using very low fat cream cheese and cutting down on the parmesan makes this the mainstay of a pretty healthy meal..Well done Bubba!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Hi! Loved them!!! I too added celery, also not wanting the oven on, I pan fried them with non-stick butter spray,yummy! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Oh, bubba! These were so yummy!The only thing i changed was a rib of celery in place of the jalapeno....but man-oh-man were these good. Just one thing though..... 4 patties? I made 6 ENORMOUS patties (2-3 times the size of normal crab cakes) thanks for sharing them :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States