Salmon and Shrimp Cakes from Chef Bubba Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I didn't have bell pepper, so I sauted shrimp with minced garlic and scallions. Very good! As a side dish to lay cakes on top; I sauted 1/2 c. onion, 1 clove garlic in olive oil and added(5 slices pre-cooked cut bacon). When tender, added large pkg fresh spinich for just a couple minutes...stir and serve...kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These SMELLED OUTRAGEOUSLY GOOD!!! They were a little dry though, I dont think it was the recipe problem... I THINK IT WAS ME!!! OTHERWISE... I would make them without the jalapeno next time. SO DELICIOUS THOUGH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Phenomenal, I will make it a regular meal at my house! I once had some Crab Jalapeno Bites at Phillips Seafood that were phenomenal and I've thought of them ever since - these were just like them! I followed the recipe exactly (even measured) but didn't have whole wheat bread crumbs or chives so I used italian crumbs and red onion. I baked at 400 for 30-35 min based on other reviews which seemed perfect. Next time I would chop the shrimp to marble-size chunks (bigger than I did) to add variety to the texture. I like making this with leftover salmon and frozen cocktail/salad shrimp as a shortcut. A nice chopper (like Pampered Chef) also makes this very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Not sure who the Chef Bubba is that submitted this recipe, but the recipe in Ladies Home Journal, June 2007, for Uncle Bubba's Crab Cakes shared by Earl "Bubba" Heirs, co-owner and chef of Uncle Bubba's Oyster House sounds much better. I say that only because they are fried in oil and butter. I think this recipe would be much better if fried in a pan instead of baked. Healthier baked, but they were to dry for me. As another reviewer said, 450 maybe is to hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
these were just okay...no one was overly impressed with them, not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Hubba Hubba Bubba!! This was absolutely delicious!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong, but I really didn't like these. I couldn't decide if I didn't like them because I don't like fish cakes, or because they tasted bad. 450 was way too hot. The bottom's burned and the middle was undercooked. I like the taste of the shrimp, but I think there was too much bread crumbs, as that was all that I could taste. I sprinkled on lemon juice at ate the tops, but I won't be making these again. Sorry to mess up a flawless recipe rating. Clearly I am in the minority, so don't let my opinion from stopping you from trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Fried salmon patties have been a favorite with our family but our old recipe will be replaced with this fantastic dish! followed the recipe exact and they turned out GREAT! Everyone loved them. Froze the leftovers and they were just as good a week later! Just the right spice and baked is so much better for you than fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I am constantly trying to come up with new seafood recipes for my boyfriend and i to enjoy (he can only eat halal meat, which is hard to get where I live, so the easiest is to cook seafood). When i served these to him last weekend, he told me that he was never eating seafood outside my house at a restaurant again! My family and i loved them also. I did make a few changes though... Used tinned red salmon (i know! fresh is better but salmon in Australia at the moment is more that $30 per kilo), i didnt use red bell papper because i dont like the taste( used red onion instead and i used jarred jalepeno(cant get fresh here). They were still amazing! Also served with Tartare Sauce I from this site... also amazing! Thanks Bubba
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tee Po
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These were very yummy. My husband loved them. I thought something was missing though so next time I would add a little salt and chopped red onions. I used italian bread crumbs also. I will definately make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tee Po

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States