Salmon and Shrimp Cakes from Chef Bubba Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This recipe makes for a whole lot more than just 4 servings.....and we did not like it at all. made this in 2007 and still have uncooked leftovers wrapped in freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myka

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
were very good the whole family enjoyed them had great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHEA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
What an intriguing and delicious way to present salmon! We loved these. I used a can of tiny shrimp (rinsed) instead of mincing larger shrimp and seasoned breadcrumb because that's what I had. Otherwise, I stuck to the recipe. I really appreciate that the cakes are baked and not fried. Thanks, Bubba!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
These were wonderful!! The only change I made was using Italian seasoned bread crumbs instead of plain. I'll make these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
sorry, but i didn't make this exactly as written; i omitted things i didn't think i'd care for. none the less...these cakes were FANTASTIC! i omitted: basil, thyme, chives and jalapeno; substituted panko for bread crumbs and for the parmesan cheese - i used the stuff in the green cannister... i thought about adding some garlic salt but i'm glad i trusted my instincts - the cheese made it salty enough. early in the day i cooked up the shrimp, red peppers and salmon - so quick! cooled them down in fridge in a gallon sized freezer bag. later in the day i didn't have time to soften cream cheese so i used a rubber spatula and creamed it together w/egg; added panko and parmesan cheese. broke up salmon right in closed plastic storage bag and then folded it into the cream cheese egg mixture. i had a girls' night out last night so i told my husband to just ice cream scoop onto baking pan, pat down and bake at 400 for 20-30 minutes. he made a mixture of sweet chili sauce & mayo to serve w/the cakes...mmmmm delish! i had the leftovers for lunch today. the whole family agrees....FIVE STARS! thank you for sharing, bubba!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were awesome, and I don't normally even like fish cakes or salmon. I chopped everything small, but not tiny, which gave it a nice texture. Also didn't have any red bell pepper so left that out. Used green onion instead of chives. I drizzled a garlic butter over them--sooo good! Next time I might not seed the jalapeno--I wouldn't mind a little bite to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Husband rates these a 4, I rate them a 2. I personally thought there was way too much red bell pepper, and I didn't care for the jalapeno at all. I could also barely taste the shrimp. Meh, I don't know, I would make them again if requested, but I didn't really enjoy them. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
We loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I didn't have bell pepper, so I sauted shrimp with minced garlic and scallions. Very good! As a side dish to lay cakes on top; I sauted 1/2 c. onion, 1 clove garlic in olive oil and added(5 slices pre-cooked cut bacon). When tender, added large pkg fresh spinich for just a couple minutes...stir and serve...kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
These SMELLED OUTRAGEOUSLY GOOD!!! They were a little dry though, I dont think it was the recipe problem... I THINK IT WAS ME!!! OTHERWISE... I would make them without the jalapeno next time. SO DELICIOUS THOUGH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States