Salmon and Rice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Like some of the others, I added a bit more seasoning: a dash of dried dill weed, a dash of dried parsley flakes, a dash of Worcestershire sauce and a dash of ground mustard; used seasoned salt (can substitute with some celery salt). Additionally, I sauteed the onion and some celery in butter to soften before adding to the mix. To make the sauce less "anemic" in appearance, you can substitute with Golden Mushroom Soup or add Kitchen Bouquet to the original - Cream of Celery also works; additionally: can add further seasonings if desired (and even some chicken "granules"). I used the "pre-cooked" single servings of Uncle Ben's brown rice which is microwaveable and simplifies things. I have to say that with the additions, it turned out great!.....a nice change from the usual salmon croquettes or patties because of the rice rather than breadcrumbs or potato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Pretty good recipe. I decided to skip the sauce; made smaller balls; rolled them in cornflake crumbs and baked them. Also used brown rice instead and some finely chopped fresh tomato. Good fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I loved this. Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Really tasty! I used leftover baked salmon and leftover rice from the night before. It's a GREAT way to use up leftover salmon. Used the carrots. Will add more seasoning next time though, it was a bit bland. Didn't use the "sauce", it didn't appeal to me. I think it would be better with some kind of creamy dill sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I used the recipe as is first, and it was fine but I wanted more veg into it, so I added the carrots and a few other veg (onion, green pepper, celery) and also some parley. I used fresh, halved button mushrooms tossed around the salmon cakes before covering with the soup. Since I'm doing the Weight Watchers thing, it bulked up each salmon cake so the portions were lower points, which means I could eat more! LOL But it's a great basic recipe and not fried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Pixie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sanquhar, Dumfriesshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N8_Bee
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This is an awesome recipe, a definitely refreshing break away from salmon filets and fried ho-hum salmon cakes and rice. I made this for my wife and kids and it was a definite smash hit!!! I so loved it that I could no longer let it go without having a picture for all to see. Try this recipe, if you're tired of those Ho-Hum Salmon cakes. . . This is a Definite Blue Ribbon Winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N8_Bee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Based on the previous review, I added some seasoning (Worcestershire sauce, dill, a little cayenne, and some parsley for color) to the recipe and I was pleased with the result. I did use the optional carrots. The sauce is very pale looking and I think a few drops of Kitchen Bouquet or the like would give it a better appearance. It's a comfort kind of food, and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this because we love salmon, even salmon patties from a can. I thought this would be a different recipe to try out since I had some left over white rice from the night before. I followed the recipe exactly (except for already having a cup of cooked rice on hand), with carrots, and wild caught canned salmon. The end product is pretty bland and tastes just like canned salmon. If you don't like the taste of canned salmon, you probably won't like the end product as written. We like fresh wild salmon or even farmed salmon that has been doctored up. But this needs some serious seasoning to help out the falvor. If I were to make this again I would add a little more onion and some old bay seasoning to see if that would help. Our one year old did love it, she ate an entire ball herself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States