Salmon and Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
I enjoy simple delicious food and this was very good in my opinion. I used a 14 ounce can of pink salmon instead of red, and made a homemade crust with Butter Flavor Crisco. My 9 year old son and 11 year old daughter loved this recipe and so did I, thank you Louise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Being French Canadian, I am very familiar with Salmon Pie. My mother however often used 2 cans of Tuna instead of Salmon and aslo added the juice from the can with half the amount of milk. I loved this pie on its second day-- re heat and add butter under the crust... amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Everybody in the family loved it. My three year old loved it until he realized that it was not apple pie. No leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The MacIsaac's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Wow! I will be making this again and again. I actually made three pies and put two in the freezer. My husband devoured it. The only thing I did differently is omit the top layer of crust and put a layer of potatoes topped with the cheese instead. I didn't add the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I've made other recipes for salmon pie and liked them but this is the way my french mom and her mom always made them. My potatoes were large so I used three and completely omitted the milk. I used the juice from the 14.5 oz. can of RED, (please use red!)salmon to mash the potatoes then mixed in the rest of the ingredients. Excellent flavor. Thanks Louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
My mom and my memere used to make this! I don't use the spices since they didn't either, and it is important to use red canned salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
My huband and I thought this was wonderful, especially served with Holly's Bechamel Sauce from this site. I didn't have potatoes, but substituted 1 cup of precooked rice blended in the food processor and it still worked well, a sign of a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this dish for my supper club and used a can of Alaskan smoked salmon and the recipe for Holly's Bechamel Sauce. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
We love our salmon and this was a wonderful variation. Very tasty and easy to make. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Everybody in my family liked it. But 6 potatoes were too much (in our opinion). I used 4 potatoes and 150 ml milk and I made no mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States