Salmon and Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
I enjoy simple delicious food and this was very good in my opinion. I used a 14 ounce can of pink salmon instead of red, and made a homemade crust with Butter Flavor Crisco. My 9 year old son and 11 year old daughter loved this recipe and so did I, thank you Louise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I've made other recipes for salmon pie and liked them but this is the way my french mom and her mom always made them. My potatoes were large so I used three and completely omitted the milk. I used the juice from the 14.5 oz. can of RED, (please use red!)salmon to mash the potatoes then mixed in the rest of the ingredients. Excellent flavor. Thanks Louise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Being French Canadian, I am very familiar with Salmon Pie. My mother however often used 2 cans of Tuna instead of Salmon and aslo added the juice from the can with half the amount of milk. I loved this pie on its second day-- re heat and add butter under the crust... amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
My huband and I thought this was wonderful, especially served with Holly's Bechamel Sauce from this site. I didn't have potatoes, but substituted 1 cup of precooked rice blended in the food processor and it still worked well, a sign of a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I broiled up some fresh salmon for this recipe. I thought my potatoes were small, but I only used 4 of them. I used fresh sage since I had it. It reminds me of a potato knish. p.s.(While baking this, I separately baked the potato skins in butter, added cheese and salmon and salt browned it and served with sour cream for an appetizer!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
We love our salmon and this was a wonderful variation. Very tasty and easy to make. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
My mom and my memere used to make this! I don't use the spices since they didn't either, and it is important to use red canned salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I love salmon pie! BUt I didn't want the extra fat from the crust. So I added some bread crumbs and some chopped parsley and I baked it as a loaf. I left out the thyme and I used fresh salmon instead of the can. Served it with a bechamel sauce and steamed broccoli. It was FANTASTIC!! I didn't even miss the crust and I liked it even better since it wasn't so heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I made this with "Butternut Pie Crust". I didnt think much of the filling at all. I did change 3 of the potatoes for 3 sweet potatoes but i cant see this making it bland and boring really. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Simple and amazingly tasty despite a lack of colour. I was a bit skeptical about a fish pie, but it turned out not too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Firehouse Salmon and Oven-Baked Potatoes

Firefighter chef cooks fresh wild salmon with crisp veggies on the side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States