Salmon and Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was excellent. I enjoyed the flavor very much. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marion, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Only had pink and sockeye so added both cans. Used less milk (actually half and half as I was out of milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I liked it, but no one else did. The pie crust ended up being mushy, which NEVER happens. It was bland too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Made this tonight for dinner. It was good but it is missing something. I made exactly as written. Maybe next time I will add some finely chopped green pepper or a touch of old bay seasoning just to give it alittle something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very good recipe but needed a second can of salmon, more butter and garlic, and I added 1/4 cup of heavy cream to the mix with a smidge of parsley. Brush the top with a little egg white for a great presentation. serve with the veggies some are tempted to add into the recipe. Nice! We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
also from memere but used allspice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very tasty - I basically stuck to the recipe, although for 1 can of red atlantic salmon, I used 2 large potatoes (did not peel them, for added nutrition). That's where the one star is lost; this recipes calls for way too much potato. Also, instead of two big pie crusts, I bought 12 mini tarts, over-filled six, put the other six on top, and baked as directed. Could have done this with 24 tart shells as I had a lot of leftover filling. Finally, I topped with the bechamel sauce from this website. Superb, but so bad for you. Good ol' comfort food I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is very good. Very much like my recipe. I drain the salmon and use the broth in a white sauce to pour over the pie. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was the first savoury pie I've ever made and I really liked it! I made it with a doubled No Roll Pie Crust from here. I used 5 potatoes instead of six, added two thinly sliced leeks, and a shredded carrot and zuchinni. It seemed to take a while (approx. 2 hrs.) but I'm sure that was because I was making pie crust for the first time and got a little OC when I was picking the bones out of the salmon. I added the milk to the juice from the salmon to get to a cup. I'm sure once I get the hang of making the easy, easy piecrust I can cut the time down. Thank-you Mackenzie for a lovely, comforting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELLA84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Spectacular! I used two cans of Alaskan salmon and lots more garlic than the recipe called for. This was total comfort food. Next time, I'll probably add some veggies to the pie. Yes, there certainly will be a next time!! Thanks, Mackenzie, for sharing your family recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Firehouse Salmon and Oven-Baked Potatoes

Firefighter chef cooks fresh wild salmon with crisp veggies on the side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States