Salmon and Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Thought it was very good, but could of used some kind of vegetable in it. I made it with real salmon (4 fillets- baked in the oven) and used dill and lemon instead of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was pretty tasty, but it seemed like more of a base than a complete recipe. I used a 7oz can of red salmon, but didn't realize there would be vertebrae in it, so had to spend more time than I had planned on going through the fish to remove the bones and skin (I didn't want my 15-month old son to find one). I think next time I will get a 14oz can, as it really just seemed like salmon-flavored mashed potatoes. I added some frozen peas, and next time maybe I'll use peas and carrots, as well as increasing the garlic and onion mixture. Maybe some sort of cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Everytime I make this I use fresh left over salmon, the result is always the same, AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutrition Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This recipe is so perfect. Exactly what I was looking for, simple, basic, healthy and fast. I can change it to suit whatever I have on hand. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made this for my family, the kids and grown-ups loved it. Didn't have a pie plate, so used a loaf pan with the crust layered on the bottom and on top. Only changes I made was that I added more garlic, used 3 potatoes instead of 6 (loaf pan is smaller), and I used the reserve liquid from the salmon and used less milk. Very good dish, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This meal was a winner for our family of 9. With 7 kids (and a husband) to please, let me just say it isn't easy finding something that everyone likes. I did tweak a few things though. I used Sainsbury's shortcrust pastry mix and added a sprinkling of dried rosemary for extra herbiness. I also added cayenne pepper, sage, dried parsley and about twice the amount of thyme to the filling (we like lots of flavour). On top of that, I quickly steamed some fresh carrots that I had cut quite chunky and added that to the filling aswell, just to give some texture. Next time I'll use 2 packets of pastry mix though, because I do like my pastry! This is a good sturdy pie with a lovely salmon flavour that isn't too fishy. Would go great with gravy, but I just served with a dollop of ketchup and it was good to go! All round, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is comfort food, for sure. I've made it with both one can and two cans of salmon. Fine with one can, but two was even better. I found that using the juices from the can worked well - very little, if any, milk needed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowShadow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is the best salmon pie recipe I have ever made. I cooked the onion and garlic until it was slightly caramelized. Instead of thyme, I used some lemon thyme. I also used only 4 potatoes, used the liquid from the salmon and added milk to measure about 1/2 cup. That was plenty for the consistancy of the pie. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Wow! I will be making this again and again. I actually made three pies and put two in the freezer. My husband devoured it. The only thing I did differently is omit the top layer of crust and put a layer of potatoes topped with the cheese instead. I didn't add the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Everybody in my family liked it. But 6 potatoes were too much (in our opinion). I used 4 potatoes and 150 ml milk and I made no mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Firehouse Salmon and Oven-Baked Potatoes

Firefighter chef cooks fresh wild salmon with crisp veggies on the side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States