Salmon and Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This meal was a winner for our family of 9. With 7 kids (and a husband) to please, let me just say it isn't easy finding something that everyone likes. I did tweak a few things though. I used Sainsbury's shortcrust pastry mix and added a sprinkling of dried rosemary for extra herbiness. I also added cayenne pepper, sage, dried parsley and about twice the amount of thyme to the filling (we like lots of flavour). On top of that, I quickly steamed some fresh carrots that I had cut quite chunky and added that to the filling aswell, just to give some texture. Next time I'll use 2 packets of pastry mix though, because I do like my pastry! This is a good sturdy pie with a lovely salmon flavour that isn't too fishy. Would go great with gravy, but I just served with a dollop of ketchup and it was good to go! All round, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is comfort food, for sure. I've made it with both one can and two cans of salmon. Fine with one can, but two was even better. I found that using the juices from the can worked well - very little, if any, milk needed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowShadow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is the best salmon pie recipe I have ever made. I cooked the onion and garlic until it was slightly caramelized. Instead of thyme, I used some lemon thyme. I also used only 4 potatoes, used the liquid from the salmon and added milk to measure about 1/2 cup. That was plenty for the consistancy of the pie. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Wow! I will be making this again and again. I actually made three pies and put two in the freezer. My husband devoured it. The only thing I did differently is omit the top layer of crust and put a layer of potatoes topped with the cheese instead. I didn't add the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Everybody in my family liked it. But 6 potatoes were too much (in our opinion). I used 4 potatoes and 150 ml milk and I made no mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Everybody in the family loved it. My three year old loved it until he realized that it was not apple pie. No leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The MacIsaac's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this dish for my supper club and used a can of Alaskan smoked salmon and the recipe for Holly's Bechamel Sauce. It was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
I made this as mentioned above, except I had to add a second can of salmon (and thought it was just right with two, one didn´t seem be enough to give a decent flavour to a whole pie). Also, my mom always made this with fresh dill and uncooked red onions which to me, makes this dish perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Simple and amazingly tasty despite a lack of colour. I was a bit skeptical about a fish pie, but it turned out not too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I made this with "Butternut Pie Crust". I didnt think much of the filling at all. I did change 3 of the potatoes for 3 sweet potatoes but i cant see this making it bland and boring really. Wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States