Salmon and Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
also from memere but used allspice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Very tasty - I basically stuck to the recipe, although for 1 can of red atlantic salmon, I used 2 large potatoes (did not peel them, for added nutrition). That's where the one star is lost; this recipes calls for way too much potato. Also, instead of two big pie crusts, I bought 12 mini tarts, over-filled six, put the other six on top, and baked as directed. Could have done this with 24 tart shells as I had a lot of leftover filling. Finally, I topped with the bechamel sauce from this website. Superb, but so bad for you. Good ol' comfort food I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is very good. Very much like my recipe. I drain the salmon and use the broth in a white sauce to pour over the pie. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was the first savoury pie I've ever made and I really liked it! I made it with a doubled No Roll Pie Crust from here. I used 5 potatoes instead of six, added two thinly sliced leeks, and a shredded carrot and zuchinni. It seemed to take a while (approx. 2 hrs.) but I'm sure that was because I was making pie crust for the first time and got a little OC when I was picking the bones out of the salmon. I added the milk to the juice from the salmon to get to a cup. I'm sure once I get the hang of making the easy, easy piecrust I can cut the time down. Thank-you Mackenzie for a lovely, comforting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELLA84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Spectacular! I used two cans of Alaskan salmon and lots more garlic than the recipe called for. This was total comfort food. Next time, I'll probably add some veggies to the pie. Yes, there certainly will be a next time!! Thanks, Mackenzie, for sharing your family recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Thought it was very good, but could of used some kind of vegetable in it. I made it with real salmon (4 fillets- baked in the oven) and used dill and lemon instead of thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was pretty tasty, but it seemed like more of a base than a complete recipe. I used a 7oz can of red salmon, but didn't realize there would be vertebrae in it, so had to spend more time than I had planned on going through the fish to remove the bones and skin (I didn't want my 15-month old son to find one). I think next time I will get a 14oz can, as it really just seemed like salmon-flavored mashed potatoes. I added some frozen peas, and next time maybe I'll use peas and carrots, as well as increasing the garlic and onion mixture. Maybe some sort of cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Everytime I make this I use fresh left over salmon, the result is always the same, AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutrition Goddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This recipe is so perfect. Exactly what I was looking for, simple, basic, healthy and fast. I can change it to suit whatever I have on hand. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I made this for my family, the kids and grown-ups loved it. Didn't have a pie plate, so used a loaf pan with the crust layered on the bottom and on top. Only changes I made was that I added more garlic, used 3 potatoes instead of 6 (loaf pan is smaller), and I used the reserve liquid from the salmon and used less milk. Very good dish, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States