Salmon and Pesto with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was so good and so easy to make. I made a couple changes. I didn't have any shallots so I cut up some onion and added a little garlic. I used chicken stock instead of fish stock. Fish stock sounded nasty and I've never even seen it sold before. I used salmon filets that I did not cut up. I'm not sure why some people commented it didn't look very nice. We thought it looked fine and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This is a wonderful, easy recipe that was delicious! I added a little garlic!! And used chicken broth instead of fish stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was fabulous! It was so good that I made it Friday night for a small dinner party and again on Sunday for Grandparents Day. All guests just about licked their plates! The only changes I made was using chicken stock, skinning the salmon, and cutting it into individual portions rather than cutting it into chunks. I also toasted some pine nuts and sprinkled on the finished dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was delicious! I also used chicken broth instead of fish stock and added 3 cloves of chopped garlic to saute with the shallot. Served with the asparagus with gorgonzola from this site by Jen and steamed squash. We enjoyed this recipe completely and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This recipe is wonderful! The pesto sauce is very creamy, but not too rich. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
fantastic. I used chicken broth instead of fish stock. didn't cube the fish, just used whole fillets and also sprinkled parmesan cheese on top when it was done. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Great rice, good salmon. I followed the recipe closely, except for adding a little extra pesto and using chicken stock in place of fish stock as that's what I had. I was worried the rice would be total mush, and it was very soft, but I can't say it was bad - it reminded me of risotto and the flavor was phenomenal, I was suprised that such simple ingredients would produce such great taste. The salmon didn't have nearly as much flavor from the pesto as I thought it would - it basically tasted like... salmon without any added flavors; can't say it's bad, just not what I expected; basically if you have great tasting piece of fish, why mask the taste? Overall, I'll definitely make this again, though I might reduce the liquid by 1/2 of a cup and cooking time by 10 minutes. Also, even though my pesto was salty when I tasted it, the salmon needed more salt, so I'd salt the fish prior to cooking. Overall, definitely a good easy dish to prepare that doesn't require a lot of special ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I love this method for cooking salmon! I did feel though that it was lacking a little flavor. I think the rice is just a bit bland and maybe could use a little something. I subbed chicken broth for the fish broth and also sprinkled a little parmesan on top when almost finished cooking as another reviewer suggested. I also recommend skinning the salmon. It was good but not great. Maybe next time I'll try rice with a seasoning packet in place of the plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Photo by loveinit
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was unbelievably, melt-in-your-mouth, bursting full of flavor delicious! I did vary it up a bit - I added quartered cherry tomatoes, chopped mushrooms, and garlic in with the shallots. Used chicken stock as well. My husband raved about the meal. Will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveinit
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
We loved this--will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States