Salmon and Pesto with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by this. The pesto flavor goes extremely well with the salmon, and I loved that this is a one pot meal. The wine was a bit strong for us, so next time I'll probably just use chicken stock. Or if I can actually find it I'll use fish stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
The rice is so good, all infused with the flavor of the wine and the salmon/pesto. I don't like my food very salty at all, though, so next time I think I will add only 1/4 cup of pesto (or maybe my pesto was saltier than normal?). Also, I'd keep my salmon fillet in one piece, not cubed. Other than that, this was super easy and convenient and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyoooootie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lee, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
My husband loved it but I wasn't too thrilled with it, I will definetly make it again - for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I love this method for cooking salmon! I did feel though that it was lacking a little flavor. I think the rice is just a bit bland and maybe could use a little something. I subbed chicken broth for the fish broth and also sprinkled a little parmesan on top when almost finished cooking as another reviewer suggested. I also recommend skinning the salmon. It was good but not great. Maybe next time I'll try rice with a seasoning packet in place of the plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I followed the other reviews and substituted fish stock for chicken and added plenty of fresh garlic and was very happy with the outcome. Made only last week and plan to make again soon. Very delicious and a nice change from typical grilled salmon. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This was great! I used Chicken stock instead of Fish and added some parmesan cheese at the end. So delicious, will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe, I omitted the wine and used chicken stock instead of fish. My mistake was to use brown rice, it takes an age to cook but it was worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I made this recipe for Christmas dinner and my parents loved it! I cut the fish amount by half and was still very satisfied with how it turned out. I found that the seafood broth gave the rice a good flavor that wasn't as fishy tasting as I'd thought it would be. I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
followed the directions exactly and was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets in the nude
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was so good and so easy to make. I made a couple changes. I didn't have any shallots so I cut up some onion and added a little garlic. I used chicken stock instead of fish stock. Fish stock sounded nasty and I've never even seen it sold before. I used salmon filets that I did not cut up. I'm not sure why some people commented it didn't look very nice. We thought it looked fine and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States