Salmon and Pesto with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
this is a strange dish to make but WOW - we loved it. So easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very flavorless. Needs some spice or salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was delicious! I also used chicken broth instead of fish stock and added 3 cloves of chopped garlic to saute with the shallot. Served with the asparagus with gorgonzola from this site by Jen and steamed squash. We enjoyed this recipe completely and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
We loved this--will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Great rice, good salmon. I followed the recipe closely, except for adding a little extra pesto and using chicken stock in place of fish stock as that's what I had. I was worried the rice would be total mush, and it was very soft, but I can't say it was bad - it reminded me of risotto and the flavor was phenomenal, I was suprised that such simple ingredients would produce such great taste. The salmon didn't have nearly as much flavor from the pesto as I thought it would - it basically tasted like... salmon without any added flavors; can't say it's bad, just not what I expected; basically if you have great tasting piece of fish, why mask the taste? Overall, I'll definitely make this again, though I might reduce the liquid by 1/2 of a cup and cooking time by 10 minutes. Also, even though my pesto was salty when I tasted it, the salmon needed more salt, so I'd salt the fish prior to cooking. Overall, definitely a good easy dish to prepare that doesn't require a lot of special ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I'm sorry to rate this recipe so low, but it was terribly bland. I followed the recipe, even using fish stock, with the exception of using onion and garlic in placed of shallot, which is similar in flavor. I tried lemon juice, parmesan, cayenne and garlic salt in the end, but this recipe was still not tasty. Perhaps with a chicken bouillon cube added to the rice, it would boost it a bit. However, I likely won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Soooo delicious! I made this exactly as is. Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Very Yummie. Next time I might add a bit of pesto to the rice. Make sure you buy good pesto, makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!!! very easy and very tasty!! "now thats what i'm talkin about" :-) Reese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reese Sherman
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
fantastic. I used chicken broth instead of fish stock. didn't cube the fish, just used whole fillets and also sprinkled parmesan cheese on top when it was done. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States