Salmon With Green Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
I agree that the recipe is inartfully worded, but I think this can be a great recipe, and I like the green-pink contrast notion. However, I would suggest saute-ing the mushrooms, onions and vegetables first, setting them aside and making the sauce in its own pan by melting the butter and slowly adding flour over low heat and then gradually adding the milk, stirring well -- this is just a simple white sauce, after all. Then add the dill and the veggies and any other stuff listed for the sauce. This keeps it from being a gloppy mess. I must say, though, if you really want something great use FRESH salmon. Put a square of fresh tender oven-baked salmon (cook with minced garlic spread over the fish and a drizzle of olive oil) over the noodles, pour over a generous amount of the sauce with the veggies and stuff. Then you just pull apart the fish to eat with the noodles, slightly stirring as you eat. YUM!! Another fantastic dish can be made by making a basic cream sauce (like the white sauce but use cream), no dill, no other veggies, and then add SMOKED salmon strips, rock shrimp, and RAW red onions. Delicioso!! This dish I had at Scomo's in San Francisco, and I was in heaven!! My only regret was that I was staying at a hotel without a fridge and couldn't take the substantial amount of leftovers with me!!!! SOOOOOO GOOOOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I gotta tell you, this was great and pretty quick. The directions are fine and I've got to appreciate someone who doesn't feel the need to be long-winded. (ahem) that being said I'll tell you the changes I made to it, just because I had the richer stuff available. I broiled my fresh salmon with minimal seasoning, lemon-lime pepper and garlic powder + olive oil. I made the roux as suggested with onions and mushrooms in pan, it worked fine because there wasn't a liquid in there yet. Once the flour was toasted up pretty well I used a cup of half & half and the rest of the liquid was made up with pasta water. I added a few shakes of the lemon-lime pepper to the sauce as well. A little white wine as suggested and a handful of frozen peas as suggested by someone else and it was done. I tossed the pasta in the sauce and served the salmon on top. I saved all the garnish since it was just myself and young daughter eating and it was delish!! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onassis75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
This recipe doesn't work. Something is wrong. You can't saute onions, mushrooms, flour, and a little bit of butter. And there's no way it's going to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This was fast & simple. I did change parts to make it faster. I used cream of mushroom soup with 1/2 a can of milk in place of fresh mushrooms and flour mixture. I didn't have the spinach fetticini so I just used regular pasta. Added garlic & red peppers and it was really quick & yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I added the lemon pepper and some fresh garlic as suggested. I also added about 10 oz of frozen peas and carrots when sauteing the onion. We all really liked this, and my four-year old ate it plain on the side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
If you understand the fundamentals of a roux, this dish will turn out gorgeous. Fresh salmon baked with butter and lemons sends this dish over the top. Add the remaining lemon and butter to the sauce (when you add the milk). Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Really delicious! We added crushed garlic to the sauteed veggies, substituted soy milk for the milk and olive oil for the butter, skipped the white wine, and added 10 oz of spinach and a dash of paprika. It was great... and sustentacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was pretty bland. I even thought I did things to liven it up a bit. I used fresh salmon (a pound) and added green peppers, sweet sherry instead of the white wine, and fresh basil. I'm considering mixing in some garlic and more fresh herbs just to make the leftovers more exciting. Not that it was bad by any means, just mediocre. Sorry Christy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
WOW! REALLY good although I tweaked it a bit. I added a little bit of lemon pepper to the sauce and cut the salmon into very small chunks and cooked the sauce on low with the salmon in it. The sauce was very thick and creamy and the salmon wasnt all chunky (I dont like it like that). I used multi-colour fusilli instead of the green fettucini. I also substituted water for the white wine as I didnt have any. Will definatlely make again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This was an excellent dinner. Needed a little something to pick it up--I added lemon juice--maybe some lemon pepper or chili powder would be good additions. People who said the instructions don't work, or that this isn't how you make a roux--lighten up! You can make a roux with veggies in it--I do it all the time for soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

To-Die-For Fettuccine Alfredo

See how to make a rich and delicious fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States