Salmon With Green Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Dish turned out bland which surprised me, because of the many positive reviews and the combination of ingredients would appear to make a tasty combination. Maybe I'd need to play with the spices. I did not have spinach fettucine in the house so I use a box of farfalle and sauteed some raw spinach. I also sauteed two salmon fillets rather than used the canned. I conjecture that I may have gone too light on the salt, but if that is what's missing then this is not a good dish for me--I'm trying to reduce my salt intake. I added crushed red pepper and grated parmesan cheese to the leftovers to make them palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was great! It could use a little more flavor, I think next time I'll add some garlic and chili pepper flakes with the onions. We made the sauce and served it over plain fettucini and steamed brocolli. This was a creative and easy way to use a can of salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I think the product that came from this recipe was fantastic. I do feel 2 Tablespoons of parsley was a tad much to the eyes. However, it did taste great! I do think that the recipe was not eloquently written and it was confusing at times. During the confusion, I didn't realize that I was to drain the salmon juice into the milk but it still turned out tasty! I definitely plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
LOVED IT, the family wasn't so impressed though. It's a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ticeeblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Healy, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I did make a lot of changes, but the result was DELICIOUS. I couldn't find spinach fettuccine, so I used whole wheat fettuccine in its place. As many suggested, I sauteed the vegetables first -- 1/2 cup finely diced onion, 2 stalks finely diced celery, 2 teaspoons minced garlic, and 1/2 cup frozen peas. I omitted the mushrooms, as a personal preference. When the onions were translucent, I dumped them into a bowl, and started on the roux. Instead of using milk in addition to the salmon "broth," I used half and half. I was out of white wine, Parmesan, parsley, and dill -- so I left those out. I salted and peppered to taste, then added about 3/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes. I added the salmon and the veggies, mixed to combined, and served over the pasta. It was a HUGE hit. My husband and kids all thought they wouldn't like it, but they all ended up having THIRDS. I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Pretty good. I tasted the sauce as I went so added some seasoning to brighten the flavor up. I made it as a standard roux and had no problem. Served mine over toast...yum. Added peas also. An easy dinner I will make again. The kids really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is a good start. I took other reviewer's advice and tweeked it a bit. Sauteed the onions in butter, added the flour for the roux base. Eliminated the mushrooms (per family), added milk and wine, brought to a boil. In the meantime, baked salmon filets w lemon, butter, and dill. Added filets and pan juices to the thickened sauce. At that point I decided it needed a litle kick so added some seasoned salt and Emirl's Salmon Seasoning. Used asiago to top pasta and sauce. Served a family of 5 to rave reviews. My p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Liked this a lot, BUT it did not need 1/4 cup of flour! I slowly added it (mixed and tasted) and it thickened up with less than 1/8 cup. I also used fresh salmon that I pan fried in the butter, onions, garlic, dill and pepper. I then added the mushrooms and continued to cook. I just used regular penne pasta and added fresh spinach leaves to the sauce for the last 2 mins of cooking. It was a great dish, even my husband went back for seconds - that's a win in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was pretty bland. I even thought I did things to liven it up a bit. I used fresh salmon (a pound) and added green peppers, sweet sherry instead of the white wine, and fresh basil. I'm considering mixing in some garlic and more fresh herbs just to make the leftovers more exciting. Not that it was bad by any means, just mediocre. Sorry Christy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This recipe turned out lovely. I made a couple of reader-suggested alterations. I was too lazy to make roux so I used a can of cream of mushroom soup. My big mistake was using a little soy milk with it...DON'T DO WHAT I DID!! I thought that I had ruined it for a second. I added a little soy sauce and sour cream to take the sweet edge off, and thank goodness it worked. Had some fresh dill, and spooned the mixture over garden rotini(Wacky Mac). It was delicious and looked pretty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Adding shrimp to this fettuccine makes it an elegant entree.

To-Die-For Fettuccine Alfredo

See how to make a rich and delicious fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States