Salmon Stew (Abalos Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great Recipe! I took the advice of other reviewers and used Chicken broth instead of water, added one can of Lobster bisque, and veggies (sliced carrots, and cubed sweet potatoes). I also simmered it for a couple of hours, mostly so the carrots would be cooked thoroughly. I served it over rice pilaf, instead of plain rice, also. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOGHOME24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veggielover
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I LOVE THIS! Ironically, I added similar ingredients as another reviewer did before I read the reviews. To make it more hearty, I added celery, carrots, spinach, and even a little cabbage and cauliflower because I love vegetables. Next time I will add some cubed potatoes as well. I also used chicken broth instead of water, and added half a can of diced tomatoes with chilies. Delicious and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very tasty! Never worked with canned pink salmon before, and was a little grossed out because of all the little circle bones, but the flavor of the stew was excellent! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
very good, great with rice, nice and simple. Substitute half the water with chicken broth, add a little hot sauce and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
WoW so glad I tried so simple to make made it the first time with canned tomatoes and added celery and carrots I love it!! This time making it with fresh tomatoes cant wait to eat it again!!! My skin cancer Doctor told me to eat lots of salmon helps my cancer glad I tried this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
this was the first time making this meal, it was simple, and very delicious. I have added this one to my recipe box, and will be using it often, as I love pink salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Thomas
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Great and easy to make stew! I used chicken broth instead of water. I also used less broth..more like 1 cup and 1/2. I prefer stew consistency vs. soup. Added 2 tablespoon of brown sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tinytink36
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Crazy good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinytink36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Loved this stew! I read the reviews and added celery like someone else did. The only thing is that I didn't add the optional ingredients because I didn't have them. Next time I make this I think I will add more tomatoes because I love them. I am so thankful for this receipe because now I have a new way to cook salmon, and I love soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I LUV THIS DISH! I GREW UP EATING SALMON GUISADO - IS WHAT WE CALL IT. IT'S VERY FILIPINO! IT'S DELICIOUS W/ HOT RICE BUT ALSO ECONOMICAL! THANKS FOR POSTING & BRINGING BACK GREAT MEMORIES! SALAMAT PO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States