Salmon Stew (Abalos Style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lorena
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Yummy stew! I used leftover Atlantic salmon. I doubled the tomato and substituted the basil with cilantro. I didn't have any fish sauce so I used 2 teaspoons of oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is a wonderful 5 star salmon stew. I’m not very big on fish but really enjoyed this dish. Thank goodness I decided to open my mind and try it. It has a mild salmon flavor, not overpowering at all. This was also a very simple and neat recipe to prepare. Loved the way that all the flavors came together. Using the liquid from the canned salmon made the broth so full and delicious. Adding fresh cilantro at the end completed it for me. Very healthy and good salmon stew recipe, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great Recipe! I took the advice of other reviewers and used Chicken broth instead of water, added one can of Lobster bisque, and veggies (sliced carrots, and cubed sweet potatoes). I also simmered it for a couple of hours, mostly so the carrots would be cooked thoroughly. I served it over rice pilaf, instead of plain rice, also. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOGHOME24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veggielover
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I LOVE THIS! Ironically, I added similar ingredients as another reviewer did before I read the reviews. To make it more hearty, I added celery, carrots, spinach, and even a little cabbage and cauliflower because I love vegetables. Next time I will add some cubed potatoes as well. I also used chicken broth instead of water, and added half a can of diced tomatoes with chilies. Delicious and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very tasty! Never worked with canned pink salmon before, and was a little grossed out because of all the little circle bones, but the flavor of the stew was excellent! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
very good, great with rice, nice and simple. Substitute half the water with chicken broth, add a little hot sauce and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
WoW so glad I tried so simple to make made it the first time with canned tomatoes and added celery and carrots I love it!! This time making it with fresh tomatoes cant wait to eat it again!!! My skin cancer Doctor told me to eat lots of salmon helps my cancer glad I tried this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
this was the first time making this meal, it was simple, and very delicious. I have added this one to my recipe box, and will be using it often, as I love pink salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Thomas
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Great and easy to make stew! I used chicken broth instead of water. I also used less broth..more like 1 cup and 1/2. I prefer stew consistency vs. soup. Added 2 tablespoon of brown sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tinytink36
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Crazy good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinytink36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States