Salmon Spread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
I made this last week for a party, using leftover grilled salmon instead of poached salmon. I also added a few drops of liquid smoke so the spread would have a "smoked salmon" flavor. Otherwise, I followed the exact recipe. It was very well recieved. I served it with a combination of crackers, and carrot and celery sticks. The recipe makes a large bowl of spread. Right after I made it, I tested it on a cracker and was not terribly impressed. The next day I tried it again, and it was delicious. Definitely NEEDS that 8 hours in the fridge for the flavors to properly blend. When I got ready to leave the party, the salmon spread was almost completely gone. I'll make this again -- THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanInWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I used canned salmon, left out the worcestershire and onion, used more hot sauce, and added liquid smoke. Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I made this recipe using 1 can of canned salmon (drained)instead of the fillet. It turned out really good! I also added a couple of blobs of mayonnaise and served it with toasted challah bread. It made for an interesting appetizer, my guests devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Use leftover vegetables and part of an onion with the poaching water. I agree that 1/4 cup white wine also is good for poaching. I substituted leftover baked salmon, cooked just till moist and "whipped" cream cheese with plain yoghurt(not sour cream). I liked adding smoked spanish paprika and a little horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suekenai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Made this for a friend's wedding reception and it was better than I expected. I probably used more salmon than it called for, and will use more in the future when I make it as a sandwich filling. I was worried when I first made it because it was kind of bland, but it was definitely better after setting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Extremely versatile recipe. I wanted to use fresh salmon but couldn't find it on sale so used canned which was cheaper and it turned out wonderful. HINT: if using canned salmon, be sure to get a brand that is marked "boneless & skinless." I spent forever picking through pulverized fish bones :) My additions: couple drops of liquid smoke for a hint of savory, a couple pinches of dill weed, and replaced the salt with 1/4 tsp of Penzey's Trinidad Spice which is a mix of salt, lemon peel, garlic, clove & ginger. Not overpowering, just gives it a nice layering of flavors. Next time I'll try the recipe as written because it sounds great too! Thanks for the addition to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was fantastic. What a great change from the usual smoked salmon recipes. I halved it because I didn't need as much as this recipe called for. It does need quite a bit more hot sauce for more zing plus a little garlic powder. Overnight refrigeration is an absolute MUST for the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Very Yummy! Brought this to a Christmas party and it was all the rave! I love this because you don't have to worry if somebody is allergic to shellfish. I did add garlic powder, and cut the salmon to 3/4lb. There will DEFINITELY be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I've made this recipe several times, and it's always popular. It's incredibly easy to put together. I add a little pepper and about half a teaspoon of horseradish, which you can't really taste, but it adds complexity to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Because of diet limitations, I used this more as a basic recipe, adapted to my diet. I used baked salmon that was leftover (I usually have some around to use in salads); low fat cream cheese, fat free plain yogurt, no salt or worcertshire sauce, lemon pepper, dry chives, onion powder, chopped garlic, and a bit of sriracha (an asian hot sauce thatalso gave the spread a pinkish color), thus making it with minimal fat and salt. To make it "smoked". I added about a capful of liquid smoke ( my answer to having inexpensive smoked items until I can buy my own smoker as smoked salmon around her runs $20.00+ a pound). It came out really yummy. I served it on toast points with a sprinkle of paprika to give it a more festive look. All I can say, was it was all gone in minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States